- Sept. 9 - Eastside Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Steel Block Bandits: Roberson Is Baddest Bandit at Eastside

Series report

WAYNESBORO, Va. - Sept. 9. Greg Roberson prevailed as 24 teams signed in for the Steel Block Bandits event at Eastside Speedway Friday for the first night of a Shenandoah Valley Doubleheader, along with Natural Bridge Speedway on Saturday.

After setting fast time and winning one of three heat races, Roberson charged from the pole position into the lead with fervor over Joey Leavell, who took second ahead of Booper Bare as the first lap was completed. The caution quickly came out on lap four due to an incident involving Billy Beachler and Petey Coffey.

From this point on, the final 36 laps clicked off without a yellow flag. Roberson restarted with a vengeance and jumped into a lead that would continue to build. Joey Leavell separated himself from third place Bare as the field blistered the track at high speed. Lapped traffic would not be a problem for the fleet machine of Greg Roberson as he sliced through several back of the pack battles.

Much of the top group stayed the same throughout the first half of the event, but as the race moved past halfway, Bare began to fade from third and would be passed just past halfway by David Watts and in the subsequent laps by Rick Singleton. With eight laps to go, SIngleon assumed the final step of the podium as he moved into third, bypassing Watts. Gerald Davis had also assumed the top five in the waning laps.

When the checkered flag flew it was Greg Roberson tying Kyle Merkel for second most wins in series history, taking his third career Bandits victory, and first of the season. Joey Leavell of Waynesboro, took a strong second with Singleton holding third, and David Watts and Gerald Davis rounded out the top five. Walker Arthur took a quiet but a strong points finishing sixth by one position over second place man in points, Bare who was seventh at the line over Trever Feathers, Andy Fries, and Matt Howsare.


Steel Block Bandits at Eastside Speedway
1) Greg Roberson, 2) Joey Leavell, 3) Rick Singleton, 4) David Watts, 5) Gerald Davis, 6) Walker Arthur, 7) Booper Bare, 8) Trever Feathers, 9) Andy Fries, 10) Matt Howsare, 11) Wes Bonebrake, 12) Mark Parks, 13) Matt Cosner, 14) Michael Alderman, 15) Rick Hulson, 16) Sean Merkel, 17) Daniel Brown, 18) Mark Brown, 19) Lee Jamerson, 20) Kyle Merkel, 21) Billy Beachler, 22) Daniel Snead, 23) Jeremy Coffey, 24) Petey Coffey
Fast Time: Roberson (18.854); Heat winners: Roberson, Watts, Leavell


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box