- Sept. 4 - Heartland Park Topeka by Sam Holbrooks


Jeremy Payne - Terry Phillips - Heartland Park MLRA

Jeremy Payne races ahead of teammate Terry Phillips en route to his first MLRA win of the season at Heartland Park Topeka. (Lloyd Collins)

MLRA: Payne Snares Heartland Park Win

Dan Robinson

TOPEKA, Kan. - Sept. 4. Jeremy Payne took the checkers at Heartland Park Topeka for his first win with the Lucas Oil MLRA for the 2010 season. Tonight's win marks the tenth win for Springfield, Missouri's Payne in his career with the Lucas Oil MLRA.

With Kelly Boen on the pole, Payne tried several grooves around the track to find his way to the front. After a caution on lap 26, Payne drove his Andy's Frozen Custard GRT by the 07 car of Boen. The 40-lap feature had only two lead changes with Boen and Payne.

Brad Looney - Dave Eckrich - Heatland Park MLRA
With Al Purkey's midfield finish at HPT, #14 Brad Looney moved to second in MLRA points as #58 Dave Eckrich maintained a narrow point lead. (Lloyd Collins) 

Coming into the race, only six championship points separated the top three Lucas Oil MLRA drivers. When the top three contenders pulled off the track, only eight points separated leader Dave Eckrich from pursuers Al Purkey and Brad Looney.  At the end of the night, Looney had jumped up into second, while Purkey would fall back one spot to third by four points. 

Jeremy Payne - Heartland Park Topeka MLRA

Jeremy Payne at Heartland Park. (Lloyd Collins)

After suffering from transmission issues in hot laps, Brad Looney made the call for his heat and finished in the third position.  

 Jeremy Payne's Terry Phillips Autosports GRT Racing Chassis is powered by a Hatfield Racing Engine with sponsorship support from Andy's Frozen Custard, New Vision Graphics, Integra Racing Shocks, and Port City Racing.

MLRA - Heartland Park Topeka
1. Jeremy Payne, 2. Kelly Boen, 3. John Anderson, 4. Terry Phillips, 5. Alan Vaughn, 6. Bryant Goldsmith, 7. Delbert Smith, 8. Brad Looney, 9. Dave Eckrich, 10. Dean Moore, 11. Joe Kosiski, 12. Al Purkey, 13. Bill Koons, 14. Ron Tex, 15. Evan Hubert, 16. Randy Reynolds, 17. Keith Lewandowdski, 18. Billy Koons Jr., 19. Al Humphrey, 20. Corey Zeitner, 21. Mark Ronnebaum.
Heat winners (21 entries): Payne, Phillips, Boen.
Mike Ruefer photo


Updated 11/02/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine