- Sept. 3 - Tyler County Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Brian Birkhofer - Tyler County UFO winner

Brian Birkhofer

UFO: Birkhofer Dominates "Black Diamond" Opener at Tyler County

UFo Media

MIDDLEBORNE, W.V. - Sept. 3 The inaugural Black Diamond Weekend opened on Friday with the UFO Race Championship sanctioned "West Virginia State Championship".  Topping a field of 70 entries, Brian Birkhofer from Muscatine, Iowa was the winner of the 51-lap main event, earning $10,000 for his efforts.

The first of eight heat winners, Steve Shaver, drew to realign the top eight starting positions, amd after pulling a four for his starting spot, Jonathan Davenport and Birkhofer ended up with front row spots.

Birkhofer used the outside lane to take the race lead and set a torrid pace, with Shaver and Davenport taking up the chase. Birkhofer reached traffic by lap nine. The first caution came on lap 14, and again on lap 19 before taking three tries to resume racing.

By then, Birkhofer and Shaver were pursued by Chris Madden, Jimmy Mars, and 14th starting Jamie Lathroum. Lathroum passed Mars for fourth on lap 22, before the next yellow waved with 24 laps in, and for a final time with 29 laps complete. Having charged through the field in the closing laps, Rick Aukland charged from sixth on the restart to advance to second at the finish.

Birkhofer had no problems over the remaining distance, as he took a convincing victory over Aukland and Madden. Lathroum earned the Pass-Maximum award, presented by Bernheisel Race Components and Lazer Chassis, after racing from 14th to fourth.


Sept. 3 - UFO - Tyler Co. Speedway
1) Brian Birkhofer, 2) Rick Aukland, 3) Chris Madden, 4) Jamie Lathroum, 5) Dave Hess, Jr., 6) Devin Friese, 7) Doug Horton, 8) Steve Shaver, 9) Cody Parker, 10) Paul Wilmoth, Jr., 11) Robbie Scott, 12) Mike Benedum, 13) Keith Barbara, 14) Jared Hawkins (prov.), 15) Butch McGill, 16) Jeep Van Wormer, 17) Jimmy Mars, 18) Jonathan Davenport, 19) Chad McClellan (prov.), 20) Rod Conley, 21) Tim Dohm, 22) Will Vaugt, 23) Rick Williams, 24) Bub McCool
Heat winners: Shaver, Parker, Birkhofer, Davenport, Mars, Madden, Scott, Hess, Jr.; B-Main winners: Horton, Van Wormer, Barbara.

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine