- Sept. 30 - Knoxville Raceway by Sam Holbrooks


Brian Shirley, Chad Simpson, and Tim McCreadie at Knoville Raceway

Brian Shirley, #25 Chad Simpson, and #39 Tim McCreadie race `em like they stole `em at Knoxville. (Jeff Bylsma)

Lucas Oil Series: Birkhofer Takes Early Lead to "Nationals" Win on Night Two

James Essex

KNOXVILLE,  Ia.  – Sept. 30. Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Ia. passed race leader Jason Rauen of Farley, Ia. on lap three as he went to capture the second night of the eighth annual Lucas Oil Late Model "Knoxville Nationals" at Knoxville Raceway. Birkhofer earned $7,000 for the triumph on Friday in front of his home state fans. 

For the second straight night, Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky. finished second. He was followed by Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., and Rauen.

Will Vaught and Jason Rauen at Knoxville Raceway

Darrell Lanigan works his way under Jason Rauen on his way to second place at Knoxville. Rauen was the race's second leader. (Jason Durst)

Scott Bloomquist and Tyler Reddick

Tyler Reddick (11) would have to wait until Saturday to score his impressive fourth place finish, as #0 Scott Bloomquist held it the end of Friday's qualifying feature. (Jeff Bylsma) 

Rob Moss grabbed the lead at the start of the 25-lap main event, relinquishing the lead to Rauen as the duo came to the stripe on lap two. Birkhofer then quickly made his way to the front, passing Rauen for the lead on lap three.  Birkhofer pulled away from what became a heated battle for second between Lanigan and Vaught.

Lanigan and Vaught exchanged the second spot on several occasions as Birkhofer continued to pull away from the duo.  Birkhofer then started to pick-up the tail-end of the field, allowing both Lanigan and Vaught to close the gap with ten laps to go, as they battled it out for second.

Rob Moss at Knoxville

Rob Moss earned a front row start and held down a brief early lead at Knoxville Friday. (Jason Durst)

“I have to thank all these great fans for coming out here to support this event, as far as I’m concerned, this is the biggest crown jewel of any racing event. It has been a while since we’ve run well here, but we will work on some things tomorrow to get ready for the $40,000 show,” said the 39-year-old veteran driver.

“Jason Rauen did a great job - he had a car capable of winning here tonight. I told him a couple of things before his heat race that might help out. I told him `you guys can do what you want, but here’s what I recommend', and it makes me feel good when these guys appreciate what you do for them.”

Tim MCCreadie and Steve Francis at Knoxville

Never yawn and giggle at the same time.  Steve Francis (left) and Tim McCreadie share a laugh in the pits at Knoxville. (Jeff Bylsma)

Brian Birkhofer at Knoxville Raceway

Race winner Brian Birkhofer with runner up Darrell Lanigan (right) and third finishing Will Vaught (left) after the second night of the "Knoxville Nationals". (Jason Durst)

Sept. 30 - Knoxville Nationals Night #2
1) Brian Birkhofer, 2) Darrell Lanigan, 3) Will Vaught, 4) Scott Bloomquist, 5) Jason Rauen, 6) Billy Moyer, 7) Bub McCool, 8) Tim McCreadie, 9) Don O’Neal, 10) Mike Marlar, 11) Chad Simpson, 12) Shannon Babb, 13) Jack Sullivan, 14) Rob Moss, 15) Chris Simpson, 16) Frank Heckenast Jr., 17) John Blankenship, 18) Nick Marolf, 19) Dan Schlieper, 20) Brian Shirley, 21) Rich Bell, 22) Kerry Hansen, 23) Jared Landers, 24) Jimmy Mars
Fast Time (62 entries): Bloomquist (17.805); Heat winners: Rauen, Chris Simpson, Chad Simpson, Heckenast, Birkhofer; B-Main winner: Babb; C-Main winner: Earl Pearson, Jr.
Birkhofer hd Knoxville

Jason Durst photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box