- Sept. 2 - Wythe Raceway by Sam Holbrooks


Fastrak: Smith Continues Dominance at Wythe Raceway

Series report

RURAL RETREAT, Va.– Sept. 2. In Friday’s opening round of the Dirt Late Model "Super Nationals" at Wythe Raceway, Inman, South Carolina’s David Smith was a picture of perfection. Smith,the current FASTRAK Southeastern/Mideast Touring Divisions point leader, cruised to quick time and then led all 40 laps on the fast Virginia half-mile.

At the drop of the green flag, Smith sailed into the lead while a three-wide battle for second ensued between Travis Blackwell, Jake Eaton and Jensen Ford, with Blackwell able to cover the position as the field completed lap one. However Eaton and Ford continued to battle for third, swapping the spot back and forth over the next several laps.

As the night’s first yellow flag appeared for Ford’s flat front tire, Smith’s nearly half-straightaway lead was erased, but with the green back in the air, Smith quickly dispensed with Blackwell and again drove away from the field.

Back through the field, Brandon Umberger began a high-side charge to the front. Umberger rolled by Eaton for fourth and began to reel Blackwell in. Matt Long also mounted a late race charge, breaking into the top five just after the halfway point. Umberger continued to pressure Blackwell until he was finally able to cover the position with nine laps remaining. The hometown driver set after Smith and began to cut into his margin. With the white flag in the air, Umberger had cut it down to three lengths, but Smith’s margin was just too much to overcome and Umberger was forced to settle for second.

“The double-file restarts make it interesting for the fans but it makes it a pretty scary for us, particularly when you are leading," Smith said after the race. "You really have to get up on the wheel and be on it for every restart. It went our way tonight, but it could have just as easily went the other way. Tonight was a great win for us.”

Sept. 3 - Wythe Raceway Fastrak
1) David Smith, 2) Brandon Umberger, 3) Travis Blackwell, 4) Matt Long, 5) Jake Eaton, 6) Lee Cooper, 7) Dennis Franklin, 8) Jason Welshan, 9) Daniel Baggerly, 10) Vic Chandler, 11) Brian Connor, 12) Blake Bentley, 13) Brian Ligon, 14) Tim Byrd, 15) Chad Hale, 16) R.K. Dix, 17) Barry Arnold, 18) Winky McGee, 19) Mack McCarter, 20) Teddy Tate, 21) Ryan Atkins, 22) Clinton Cook, 23) Jordan Dill, 24) Jensen Ford, 25) Kenny Peeples, 26) Chase McCormick, 27) Michael Smith
Fast Time: Smith (18.186); Heat winners: Chandler, Arnold


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box