- Sept. 2 - Outlaw Motor Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Show-Me Racing Series: Late Pass Gives Wells Second Series Win of Season

Trenton Berry

MUSKOGEE, Okla. - Sept. 2. With a late pass on leader Randy Zimmerman, Justin Wells found victory lane for the second time in 2011 in Race Brothers Farm and Home Supply Show Me Racin Series action Friday at Outlaw Motor Speedway.

Chad Wheeler felt right at home racing in his own back yard and looked the part early on after winning his heat and bolting to the lead on the opening lap. Wheeler was overtaken by Zimmerman on lap 17. Zimmerman held the lead until he slid just a little too high in turn two on lap 22. Wells had the momentum and ducked underneath Zimmerman and led the final three laps to score his series leading 34th career win.  

“I think we just maybe found a different line than anyone was using,” Wells said of his pass for the win. “The outside had so much momentum and I don’t think they thought anybody could pass on the bottom. I think we just kind of found it right there.”

Wells has led the points for the season’s duration, and aside from the opening night, he’s had to come from the 10th starting position, due to series inversion rules.

“The cars are so equal now if you don’t get a lucky break, you’re not going to make it through. Every week we’ve passed as many cars as anybody, it’s just the one or two we couldn’t get at the end,” Wells added.

Despite the mid-pack starting position, Wells has only finished outside of the top five once, with a seventh place effort at Mid America Speedway.

Earlier in the night, Bright Racing, Quality Electric Motors, McMurtrie Oil, Wheeler Metals, Outlaw Motor Speedway, Performance Compression and sponsored a “Dash for Cash.” Ken Essary won the nine-lap shootout and pocketed $999.99 for the win.

Show-Me Series at Outlaw Motor Speedway
1. Justin Wells, 2. Randy Zimmerman, 3. Leslie Essary, 4. Rick Lebow, 5. Chad Wheeler, 6. Ken Essary, 7. Willie Gammill, 8. Jay Rierson, 9. Brandon Hunter, 10. Chris Deaton, 11. Rob Powell, 12. Chris Morelock, 13. Jarrod Hilton, 14. Robert McMurtrie, 15. Dan Leatherman, 16. Scott Fry, 17. Brandon Cheek, 18. Eric Tinderholt, 19. Ray Peacock, 20. Kyle Ledford, 21. Jason Redman, 22. Tate Cole, 23. Larry Campbell
Heat winners: Zimmerman, Wells, L. Essary, K. Essary; B-Main winner: Cheek

Ron Mitchell photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box