- Sept. 26 - Dublin Motor Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Carolina Clash: Smith Wins Second at Dublin

Alex Cummings

WINGATE, N.C. - Sept. 26. “I love this track” said Jeff Smith, driver of the Star Leasing and Starrette Trucking #18 Rocket, after he was able to motor to the win from his ninth place starting spot to win at Dublin Speedway Sunday. The win was Smith’s second of the season and second at Dublin this year. It also marks his 24th career Carolina Clash victory.

Ricky Weeks took the early lead from his pole position starting spot. As Weeks crossed the start finish line on lap three, he was nearly five lengths ahead of the second place contender, but as Weeks went into turn one, something in the transmission locked up and he came to rest on the backstretch.

Under the caution, the #17 of Tim Allen joined Weeks behind the wall with mechanical issues ending his night as well.

Laps seven through 10 saw a great battle taking place between Scott Autry and Chris Ferguson. The two would swap the second position twice in just four laps before Autry suffered a left rear flat tire. Utilizing the high side around the race track up until that point, Smith, along with Jay Sessoms and Luke Roffers, had been hanging it out on the rim around Dublin Speedway as he worked his way into contention.

Lap 20 saw another caution wave forChuck Smith who came to a stop. He was able to continue and would later pickup the Safety Kleen Hard Charger Award for advancing 12 positions during the feature event.

On the restart, Ferguson would go through the spin cycle in turn one while running in the third position. On the next restart, a multi-car wreck in turn one involved Dan Breuer, Smith, Mike Parker, and David Taylor. The three cars of Taylor, Smith, and Parker would get damage but never stopped during the incident and kept on going to maintain position.

Lap 26 saw another caution come out when Timmy Blackwell came to a stop, then returned after changing a right rear sneaker, and on the restart, Smith restarted the race in the fifth position, but fans watched a display of raw power as he was leading he race by the time he reached turn four. Utilizing the high groove once again, Smith was able to pass four cars in less than a lap.

Lap 33 saw a scary moment when tenth running Breuer lost his left rear tire when the axle housing broke and down the frontstretch. Breuer crossed the line still spinning as the tire went flying uncontrollably down the track.

On the restart, Smith was able to run and hide from the field yet again. Coming home in second were the #00 of Jay Sessoms, with his best finish of the year. Dean Bowen took third over Stephen Evans, with his best career Clash finish.

Carolina Clash - Dublin Motor Speedway
1) Jeff Smith, 2) Jay Sessoms, 3) Dean Bowen, 4) Stephen Evans, 5) Rambo Franklin, 6) Travis Hair, 7) Scott Autry, 8) Chris Ferguson, 9) Luke Roffers, 10) David Taylor, 11) Chuck Smith, 12) Timmy Blackwell, 13) Brian Ledbetter, 14) Mike Parker, 15) Dan Breuer, 16) Jonathan Gunther, 17) Travis Yow, 18) Craig Shuffield, 19) Ricky Weeks, 20) Tim Allen, 21) Keith Jacobs, 22) Dale Hammond, 23) Michael Marlowe
Fast Time (23 entries): Weeks; Heat winners: Labonte, Roffers

Missy Hendrickson photo 

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine