- Sept. 25 - Brownstown Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


John Blankenship, Jeep Van Wormer, Steve Casebolt - Lucas Oil Series at Brownstown Speedway

John Blankenship (#23), Jeep Van Wormer, and "Jackson 100" fast qualifier Steve Casebolt heavily engaged at the 31st annual "Jackson 100" at Brownstown Speedway(Rick Schwallie) 

Lucas Oil Series: Bloomquist Hits 500 With "Jackson 100" Win

Lucas Oil Series media

BROWNSTOWN, Ind. - Sept. 25. Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn. won the 500th feature event of his illustrious career on Saturday in capturing the 31st annual "Jackson 100" at Brownstown Speedway.  Bloomquist earned $20,000 for his third win in the annual event.

Scott Bloomquist winner - Brownstown Speedway Jackson 100

Mark Schaefer photo

Bloomquist took the lead on lap four after starting third. Seeking to become the first four-time winner of the race, Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN finished second just ahead of Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn. Completing the top five were Matt Miller of Waterville, Oh. and Chris Wall of Holden, La.   

Chris Brown, Tyler Reddick, Josh McGuire - Brownstown Speedway Jackson 100

Some intense racing at midfield between South Texas' Chris Brown (#21),  California teenager Tyler Reddick (#11), and #41 Josh McGuire at Brownstown. (Rick Schwallie) 

Don O'Neal and Chris Wall put a pair of #71 cars on the front row before the start of the "Jackson 100" at Brownstown. (Rick Schwallie)
“I have to thank so many people for getting me to 500 wins, I wish Bob and Barb Miller were here to see this, they have been such an important part of my career,” said the 46-year-old driver.  “To win number 500 here at Brownstown is special, it has been one of my favorite tracks to run on.  Somebody said we got our 200th win here in 1991. The first time I came here I don’t think I even made the race, the locals were so tough here to beat and with all the traveling guys racing, it was quite a chore just to get into the field.” 

Bloomquist, who started in third in the 100-lap affair, took the lead on lap four from O’Neal.  Owens took over the second spot on lap six and challenged Bloomquist for the lead up until lap 11 when O’Neal passed him. O’Neal then picked the pace as the top three put on quite a show for the race lead.

 Earl Pearson, John Blankenship, Donnie Moran - Lucas Oil Racing Series at Brownstown Speedway

Earl Pearson, Jr. was able to parlay his provisional start into a ninth place showing at Brownstown. Pearson races under #23 John Blankenship and #99 Donnie Moran. (Rick Schwallie)

Bloomquist entered heavy traffic by lap 26 until a caution on lap 40 left Bloomquist with a clear track in front of him.  On the restart Bloomquist pulled away from O’Neal and Owens as he set sail. Bloomquist saw a 12-length lead shrink down to one length with 25 laps to go as he was having trouble negotiating lapped traffic. 

Bloomquist worked his way through more lapped cars, and put plenty of distance between himself and O’Neal when the checkers flew.  With the win, Bloomquist stretched his lead in Lucas Oil points standings to 260 points over Owens. Bloomquist was in his own self-designed chassis and is sponsored by Miller Brothers Construction, Hawkeye Trucking, and Sweet Mfg. A Roush-Yates Racing Engine powers his car. 

Steve Casebolt at Brownstown Speedway

Indiana's own Steve Casebolt set fast time for the "Jackson 100". (Rick Schwallie)

series announcer, James Essex, of Hope, Ind. was inducted into the Brownstown Speedway Hall of Fame during the intermission prior to the 100-lap main event. Essex began announcing for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series in its first year, and has become the “Voice of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series”. He began his career when he was 14 years old at Brownstown Speedway, and announced there for the next 21 years before taking to the highways and announcing on the national dirt late model touring circuits.  

"Jackson 100" - Brownstown Speedway
1) Scott Bloomquist, 2) Don O'Neal, 3) Jimmy Owens, 4) Matt Miller, 5) Chris Wall, 6) Bart Hartman, 7) Jeep Van Wormer, 8) Earl Pearson, Jr. (prov.), 9) Dan Schlieper, 10) Tyler Reddick, 11) Brad Neat, 12) Josh McGuire, 13) Donnie Moran, 14) Chris Brown, 15) John Blankenship, 16) Tim Isenberg (prov.), 17) Eric Wells, 18) Jason Smith (prov.), 19) Zack Dohm, 20) Steve Casebolt, 21) Mark Barber, 22) Rod Conley, 23) Ray Cook, 24) John Gill, 25) Dale McDowell
Fast Time (52 entries): Steve Casebolt (15.289); Heat winners: O’Neal, Bloomquist, Wall, Owens, B-Main winners: Dohm, Moran
Bloomquist hd - Brownstown

Mark Schaefer photo


Updated 11/02/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine