- Sept. 24 - I-80 Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Denny Eckrich and Travis Dickes at I-80 Speedway

Denny Eckrich races outside of Travis Dickes before putting in a sixth place showing at I-80 Speedway. Dickes won his heat race but slipped to mid-pack in the feature. (Andrew Towne) 

MLRA / Cornbelt Clash: Anderson Assumes MLRA Point Lead After "Cornhusker Clash" #2

Trenton Berry

GREENWOOD, Neb. - John Anderson jumped to the lead from the outside pole to score the win in the final night of the "Cornhusker Classic" at I-80 Speedway on Saturday. The Lucas Oil MLRA series regular also took over the point lead in the process.


"We just needed to put the package together," Anderson said of his late season turnaround. "Me and Vinny are gelling real good. The boss (Team Owner, Greg Junghans) wasn't here tonight. We'll be glad to call him and let him know how this went."


Chad Simpson and Kyle Berck at I-80 Speedway

Friday night winner Kyle Berck (14) chases #25 Chad Simpson before having to settle for eighth at I-80. Simpson claimed fourth. (Andrew Towne)



John Anderson and crewmember at I-80 Speedway.(Andrew Towne)
Anderson was challenged early by second running Kelly Boen until Boen was held up in lapped traffic. "Our car was real maneuverable," stated Anderson. "I had a couple different lines I could use if I needed to."


Jill George suffered a flat with four laps to go, which forced a caution. Boen was on Anderson's bumper on the restart, but the Shop Quik #2 was simply the evening's dominant car. Anderson pulled away just like early in the race. The win is Anderson's second in Lucas Oil MLRA competition this season.


Jaosn Rauen made a turn four pass on Kelly Boen to finish second. Boen was third.


John Anderson at I-80 Speedway

John Anderson warms up wrior to his triumph at I-80. (Andrew Towne)



Sept. 24 - I-80 Speedway MLRA / Cornbelt Clash

1) John Anderson, 2) Jason Rauen, 3) Kelly Boen, 4) Chad Simpson, 5) Dave Eckrich, 6) Denny Eckrich, 7) Al Humphrey, 8) Kyle Berck, 9) Tim Isenberg, 10) John Hampel, 11) Al Purkey, 12) Travis Dickes, 13) Chris Simpson, 14) Joe Kosiski, 15) Craig Preble, 16) Jason Utter, 17) Justin Mitchell, 18) Charlie McKenna, 19) Jay Stewart, 20) Bill Koons, 21) Bill Leighton, 22) Jill George, 23) Rob Moss, 24) Mike Wiarda, 25) Justin Zeitner, 26) Leon Zeitner, 27) Mike Collins, 28) Steve Kempt
Heat winners (46 entries): Hampel, Dickes, Anderson, Humphrey, Boen.

Andrew Towne photo 


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box