- Sept. 23 - Tazewell Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


NASRA: Hill Dominates Eventful "Buddy Rogers Memorial 44"    

 Allen Earl

TAZEWELL, Tenn. - Sept. 23. After being rescheduled earlier in the season due to rain the National All Stars Racing Association (NASRA) was greeted with cool temperatures and a gusty fall wind.  Vic Hill raced to a relatively unchallenged win in the event.

New track qualifying record holder Steve Smith led the field to green, but from early on, the race belonged to Hill.  On lap 11, just behind the leaders, Bryan Hendrix tangled with Travis Fultz and the resulting contact send Fultz first into the outside wall. Fultz then rolled over and back into the inside wall, where the car came to rest on top of the wall.  Fultz and crew were angry, but luckily he was uninjured and walked away. 


Vic Hill and Arnie Fields at Tazewell Speedway

Arnie Fields goes a lap down to a flying Vic Hill at Tazewell Speedway. (Allen Earl)


On the restart, with Hill leading Smith and Jason Trammell, another driver took a wild ride.  Arnie Fields found his #01 car in the outside wall of turn two after also flipping.He too was uninjured. 


The race was restarted and Hill moved out to a four-second lead and found out his car could run in basically any groove he chose.  Smith and Trammell at this point did well to just hang on. At lap 28, no one had really put up a challenge, but after a lap 28 restart, Bryan Hendrix got third from Trammell and set out after Smith to grab second.  On lap 39, Hendrix tangled with a lapped car and the result was four more cars sustaining damage, including Trammell and Terry Wolfenbarger. who had been running in the top five most of the night. 


With Hendrix retaining second, the eight remaining cars were lined back up.   Hill held them off and got yet another Tazewell Speedway victory.  



Sept. 23 - Tazewell Speedway NASRA
1) Vic Hill, 2) Bryan Hendrix, 3) Steve Smith, 4) Bobby Wolter, Jr., 5) Andy Galgoci, 6) Heath Alvey, 7) Tommy Bailey, 8) Freddie Brock, 9) Jason Trammell, 10) Terry Wolfenbarger, 11) Jeff Maupin, 12) Jeff Wolfenbarger, 13) J. Allan, 14) Brian Smith, 15) Travis Fultz, 16) Brett Miller, 17) Arnie Fields, 18) Mark Leach (DNS)
Fast Time: Steve Smith (10.828 - NTR)

Allen Earl photo



Wehrs Machine


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Bill Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 09-25-11

Weekend Warriors

Calumet County Fairgrounds "Chilton Fall Invitational" - Russ Scheffler

Russ Scheffler at Calumet Co. Fairgrounds

Billed as "the largest race at the smallest track in Wisconsin", the Calumet Co. "Fall Invitational" played out on Sept. 23-24,  and Russ Scheffler drove his #74 to the win in the event. (Michael Esser)

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box