- Sept. 18 - WaKeeney Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


MDLMS: Smith Outduels Wiarda For WaKeeney Win

Mike Hughes

WAKEENEY, Kan. - Sept. 18. Delbert Smith, of Wichita, Kansas battled Mike Wiarda halfway through Sunday's Midwest Dirt Late Mode Series (MDLMS) event at Wakeeney Speedway before securing the lead and driving away to the in the tour's first appearance at the Kansas track.

It was championship night at the season finale at Wakeeney, with over 100 race teams gathered as track champions were crowned in the four regular divisions, plus an appearance by the MDLMS.

The series started 16 cars in its 30-lap main event, with polesitter Chad Dolan jumping to the early lead before Wiarda took control on lap four. Smith caught Wiarda on lap 10 and used lapped traffic to his advantage to take the lead. Wiarda regained the lead at the halfway mark after a caution on lap 14, but two laps later, Smith regained the lead and held on to the checkers. Brad Fortney got by Wiarda for second, with pole dash winner Dolan and Chris Kratzer rounding out the top five.

MDLMS Late Models at WaKeeney Speedway
1. Delbert Smith, 2. Brad Fortney, 3. Mike Wiarda, 4. Chad Dolan, 5. Chris Kratzer, 6. Brad Wagoner, 7. Earl Kinderknecht, 8. Gary Gorby, 9. Dave Conkwright, 10. Vince Wagoner, 11. Daniel Smith, 12. Ryan Heger, 13. Ryan Grit, 14. Tyler Bradshaw (DNF), 15. Doug Sieh Sr. (DNF), 16. Ron Heger (DNF).
Heat winners (16 entries): Wiarda, Kinderknecht; Dash Winner: Dolan

Xtreme sports photography


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box