- Sept. 18 - Virginia Motor Speedway Lucas Oil Series by Sam Holbrooks

Scott Bloomquist and Steve Francis at Virginia Motor Speedway
Scott Bloomquist looks under leader Steve Francis before taking the lead on lap 25 and leading the rest of the "USA 100" at Virginia Motor Speedway. (Kevin Fisher)
Lucas Oil Series: "USA 100" Gives Bloomquist Weekend Sweep, New Series Points Lead 
James Essex
JAMAICA, Va. - Sept. 18.  Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn. took the lead for good on the 24th lap from Steve Francis and went on to win the rain-shortened Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned "USA 100" on Sunday at Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway.  
Bloomquist and Francis staged a terrific race for the lead in the first 24 laps of the race until Bloomquist began to pull away. Rain then hit the track and the main event was halted with 31 laps complete. Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn. was third, followed by Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., and Jamie Lathroum of Mechanicsville, Md. 
Scott Bloomquist at Virginia Motor Speedway VL
Scott Bloomquist made it 13 wins on the season with a rain-delayed "USA 100" triumph at Virginia Motor Speedway on Sunday. (Kevin Fisher)
Francis grabbed the lead at the start with Bloomquist and Steve Shaver in tow. Francis held the lead for most of the race with Bloomquist edging ahead of him on lap seven. Francis quickly charged back by Bloomquist for the lead. The two continued a side-by-side battle with Francis leading the way until lap 24 when Bloomquist passed him exiting turn four in traffic. 
Bloomquist swiftly put three lapped cars between himself and Francis. Rain started to fall on lap 31, forcing a red-flag. With more precipitation on the way and being past the half-mark, VMS officials and Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series officials decided to call the event with 19 laps remaining out of the scheduled 50. 
Dale McDowell and Brad Neat at VMS
Dale McDowell races with Brad Neat, driving brother Dustin's #25 car at Virginia. (Kevin Fisher)
It was Bloomquist’ first ever win at Virginia Motor Speedway as he completed the weekend sweep in Virginia. “It sounds good to win both of these races; we had never won at either of these tracks. We knew we would get one eventually, the car was good all day, it was a little hard to pass in the heat race. The tire set up we chose worked great for getting to the bottom and get something done down there,” said the 47-year-old who captured his 13th series win of the year and the 39th of his career. 
Rick Eckert and Tyler Reddick at VMS
Kenny Moreland races #11 Tyler Reddick. (Kevin Fisher)  
“Steve (Francis) was running well, he got boxed in some traffic and I was able to get under him. We raced close and clean, we both run Roush-Yates Engines and they were great today. Thanks to the fans for coming out today, it’s a shame the weather didn’t cooperate,” said Bloomquist, who with the win took back over the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship Points lead from Owens. 
Bloomquist drives his own Bloomquist Race Cars Ford sponsored by Base Racing Fuels, Hawkeye Trucking, Sweet Mfg, Miller Brothers Construction, Hoosier Tires, Lane Automotive, Allstar Performance, Dixie Chopper and Ohlins. His win in the Sunday’s USA 100 was the third of his career with his previous victories coming in 1993 and 1994 when the event was held at Beckley (WV) Motor Speedway. 
Don O'Neal and Jason Covert at Virginia Motor Speedway
Lucas Series regular Don O'Neal (71) and Jason Covert race for eighth place at VMS. (Kevin Fisher)
Francis in his Valvoline, Harbaugh Amusement, MasterSbilt #15 took second in the final results. “We had a real good car today, we went with the smaller motor thinking the track would slick up some and it did. I tried to hold my line there, if we just could have kept the lead for about five more laps we would’ve won, but once Scott got by me, I knew I was in trouble.” 
Marlar in the Bryson Motorsports Rocket claimed third and was happy with his run. “To finish third to these guys, it is quite an accomplishment. We’ll take third and go to the next race, I was just waiting for the final 20 laps, and I felt like we had a car that could’ve won.” 
Walker Arthur and Gary Stuhler
Walker Arthur races outside of Gary Stuhler before becoming the first out of the hunt early in the race. (Kevin Fisher)
Lucas Oil Series at Virginia Motor Speedway
1) Scott Bloomquist, 2) Steve Francis, 3) Mike Marlar, 4) Jimmy Owens, 5) Jamie Lathroum, 6) John Blankenship, 7) Steve Shaver, 8) Don O'Neal, 9) Jason Covert, 10) Dan Stone, 11) Ricky Elliott, 12) Jared Landers, 13) Gary Stuhler, 14) Eric Wells, 15) Steve Casebolt, 16) Tyler Reddick, 17) Dale McDowell, 18) Kenny Moreland, 19) Brad Neat, 20) Ray Cook, 21) Mark Pettyjohn, 22) Roland Mann, 23) Earl Pearson, Jr., 24) Walker Arthur
Fast Time (32 entries): Mike Marlar (17.363); Heat winners: Francis, Marlar; B-main winners: Stuhler, Arthur

Scott Oglesby photo 


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box