- Sept. 18 - Virginia Motor Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Jonathan Davenport VL - Lucas Oil Late Model Series at Virginia Motor Speedway

Jonathan Davenport with a pair of lovely dovelies after his second Lucas Oil win of the weekend in Virginia. (Rick Schwallie) 

Lucas Oil Series: Davenport Runs the Table in Virginia With Second Win at VMS

Dave Seay

JAMAICA, Va. - Sept. 18. Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga. completed the weekend sweep in the Commonwealth State of Virginia as he captured the $15,000 to win ASI Racewear 31st annual “USA 100” on Saturday at Virginia Motor Speedway.  Davenport’s win marked his second Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory in two nights.  Friday Night he captured the win at Winchester Speedway. 

Jeremy Miller - Ray Cook - Steve Casebolt - Virginia Motor Speedway Lucas Oil Late Model Series

Ray Cook races between #1 Jeremy Miller and #9 Steve Casebolt in his advance toi ninth place. (Rick Schwallie)

“To win one Lucas Oil event this weekend was special, but to back it up here tonight with a win against this type of competition is just fantastic,” said the 26-year-old racer.  “The car was fast all night, we came out and broke the track record, won our heat and I tried a couple of different lines out there in the feature, the car was just a dream to drive, to beat drivers like (Scott) Bloomquist, (Earl) Pearson, (Jimmy) Owens and so on is just terrific, they are all great drivers and to race against them it is an honor.”

“I have to thank Barry and Lance Wright for giving me the opportunity to drive their equipment, and thanks to all my sponsors for making this possible, Nichols Plumbing, Dirtwrap, Baird Transport, Elite Concrete, Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas and all my product sponsors. We are really on a roll right now and we hope to continue to finish the season strong,” said Davenport, who earned $25,000 for his two victories.   

Earl Pearson Jr - Scott Bloomquist - Virginia Motor Speedway Lucas Oil Series

Aside from Jonathan Davenport's obvious triumph, a fierce battle between Scott Bloomquist and #44 Earl Pearson was the highlight of was the highlight of the evening at VMS. Bloomquist finally prevailed for second. (Rick Schwallie)

Davenport started quickly and took the lead at the start of the 50-lap finale.  Davenport had to be patient through the caution periods that dotted the event.  He had to hold off both Bloomquist and Pearson at various times during the race, but in the end he had the best car all race long as he pulled away in the final ten laps to score his second career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series triumph.  

Jonathan Davenport VL Virginia Motors Speedway Lucas Oil Late Model Series

It may be politically incorrect, but yes, when it's yours, you can shoot the eagle. (Rick Schwallie)

A spirited battle the entire distance between Bloomquist and Pearson saw the two previous LOLMDS National Champs go toe-to-toe for second.  Bloomquist was able to challenge Davenport early on as Pearson put the heat on Davenport during the mid-portion of the race. 

Bloomquist, who is seeking to win his 500th career race, beat Pearson into turn one after a lap 37 restart.  Bloomquist was able to fight off everything that Pearson threw at him in the final 13 circuits to finish second/

In preliminary action Davenport set a new track record of 16.731 seconds among the 42 entrants.  The previous track record was held by Shane Clanton at 17.097 which was set in April of 2007.  The 25-lap preliminary heat race winners were Scott Bloomquist and Jonathan Davenport.  The B-Mains went to Jamie Lathroum and Booper Bare.  

Lucas Oil Series - Virginia Motor Speedway
1) Jonathan Davenport, 2) Scott Bloomquist, 3) Earl Pearson, Jr., 4( Steve Shaver, 5) Dale McDowell, 6) Jimmy Owens, 7) D.J. Myers, 8) Eric Wells, 9) Ray Cook, 10) John Blankenship (prov.), 11) Daniel Stone, 12) Brad Neat, 13) Steve Casebolt, 14) Chris Ferguson, 15) Jamie Lathroum, 16) Chris Wall (prov.), 17) Tyler Reddick, 18) Don O'Neal, 19) Chris Madden, 20) Darryl Hills, 21) Kenny Compton, 22) Ricky Elliott, 23) Jeremy Miller, 24) Jason Covert, 25) Booper Bare, 26) Brent Robinson.
Fast Time (42 entries): Davenport (16.731 - NTR); Heat winners: Bloomquist, Davenport; B-Main winners: Lathroum, Bare

Jonathan Davenport - VMS winner

Rick Schwallie photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine