- Sept. 17 - Wythe Raceway by Sam Holbrooks


Carolina Clash: Cook Claims Second Straight Clash Win at Wythe

Series report

RURAL RETEAT, Va. - Sept. 17. Ray Cook left Rural Retreat Virginia Saturday with a $4000 Carolina Clash victory, the XS Power Batteries Fastest Qualifier Award, and a new track record.

During qualifying Cook set a blistering time of 16.082 on his second lap to set a new track record - the third time this season the track record has been broken following Jonathan Davenport in July and Chris Madden on the first of September.

At the drop of the green Cook battled second fastest Kenny Compton, Jr. through the first turn and pulled out to an early lead. Compton was followed by Dennis Franklin, Tim Allen, and Ray Tucker before, on lap nine, the first caution flag flew as the 14 car of David Taylor slammed the outside wall off turn four. Cook was directly behind Taylor and nearly got caught up in the incident.

On the Delaware double file restart, Compton maintained control of the second spot over Frankllin, Tucker, and Autry, but Jeff Smith was on the move as he moved up to the seventh spot by lap 12, and up to sixth by lap 21, when Craig Shuffield's night came to an end as he made hard contact with the inside retaining wall down the back stretch.

As the laps started to wind down, Compton began to close the gap running Cook down and looking for grip on the bottom grove. On lap 38, the caution flew for the last time to set up a green, white, and checkered, and on the restart, Compton gave one last bid trying to overtake Cook, but Cook held on to take his second Carolina Clash victory in a row. Cook and Compton were still followed by Franklin, with Smith reaching fourth ahead of Tucker.

In the JE Pistons Roush/Yates "Chase for the Championship", Compton moved to the point, overtaking Franklin by two points. Luke Roffers held onto the third spot in the chase with his sixth place finish, and Smith holds onto fourth place. Mike Gault moved into the fifth position with his seventh place finish, starting 14th on the grid and gaining seven spots en-route to take the Safety Kleen Hard Charger of the Race Award.

Sept. 17 - Carolina Clash at Wythe Raceway
1) Ray Cook, 2) Kenny Compton Jr., 3) Dennis Franklin, 4) Jeff Smith, 5) Ray Tucker, 6) Luke Roffers, 7) Mike Gault, 8) Tim Allen, 9) Scott Autry, 10) Kerry Jones, 11) Travis Yow, 12) Gary Mabe, 13) Daniel Baggerly, 14) Dustin Mitchell, 15) Ronnie Hoover, 16) Travis Greer, 17) Kyle Pierce, 18) Daniel Moss, 19) Craig Shuffield, 20) Derrick Harmon, 21) David Taylor, 22) Jay Sessoms, 23) Jim Shuffield
Fast Time: Ray Cook (16.082)

Thomas Hendrickson photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box