- Sept. 17 - Petaluma Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


West Coast Shootout: Daly wins 32nd "M. Maselli & Sons Classic" at Petaluma


Track report


PETALUMA, Cal. - Sept. 17. In a race loaded with veteran drivers - many of them with racing resumes' reaching back to long before Clay Daly's birth - the 22-year-old Watsonville driver combined a good car, talent, and a bit of luck Saturday at Petaluma Speedway with a dazzling wire-to-wire victory in the 32nd annual "M. Maselli & Sons Late Model Classic".


"We always try to come here with a great car and tonight we seem to have hit the set-up right from the start. We didn't make any changes all night. I have the best car owner there is," said a smiling Daly, after collecting the $2000 winner’s share, and giving credit to car owner Pete Van Iderstine.


Drivers belonging to the West Coast Shootout Late Model Series joined with Petaluma Speedway regulars to bolster the 29 car turn-out for the premier event, which is the longest running late model race on the West Coast.


The only bit of luck Daly needed all night came during the pill draw for the trophy dash when Daly joined heat winners John Silva, Steve Drake, and Nick Bartels along with second-place finishers Bobby Hogge IV, Bill Bartles, and Robert Sanders. Daly drew the pole slot for the dash and from that point on he led every lap.


After winning the dash, Daly earned the pole position in the 20 car, 35-lap feature in which West Coast Shootout points leader Drake was a late scratch. Hogge, Silva, and Nick Bartles kept pace with Daly until the he reached lapped traffic after 12 laps. Bartles and Hogge tangled on lap 15, which sent Bartels to the rear on the restart.


A three-car crash on lap 17 then eliminated five-time Maselli winner Silva, who, in qualifying, broke Daly’s one-year-old track-record. Two laps later, second-running Hogge drifted high in turn two, allowing Petaluma track champion Jeff Decker and Santa Rosa’s Anthony Restad to move up. Decker closed in the leader in the closing laps but the masterful Daly rebuked the challenge and notched the victory.


“If we’d have stayed in lapped traffic, I could've got him,” said Decker, who picked up $1000 for finishing second over Restad, Hogge, and Kirby.



Sept. 17 - Petaluma Speedway West Coast Shootout

1) Clay Daly, 2) Jeff Decker, 3) Anthony Restad, 4) Bobby Hogge, 5) Mike Kirby, 6) Nick Bartels, 7) Rick Shafer, 8) Bill Bartels, 9) Jason Papich, 10) Shawn DeForest, 11) Paul Guglielmoni, 12) Johnny Cardoza, 13) Richard Papenhausen, 14) Andy Obertello, 15) John Silva, 16) Randy Larsen, 17) Tony Toste, 18) Robert Sanders, 19) Trent Elliott, 20) Carla Laney
Heat winners (29 entries): Silva, Bartels, Drake, Daly; B-Main winner: Shafer


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box