- Sept. 17 - Farley Speedway (Open LM) by Sam Holbrooks


Chad Simpson and Jason Rauen at Farley Speedway

While Matt Furman gives chase, B-Main winners Chad Simpson and Jason Rauen roll through the field toward the front before their fortunes took two different paths. Simpson ran down the $7,5000 "Yankee Dirt Classic" win and Rauen got caught up in a wreck that ended his strong run.  (Darrel Unzel)

Simpson Rallies For Fourth "Yankee Dirt Classic" Triumph at Farley

FARLEY, Ia. - Sept. 17. Undaunted by having to grab a starting position via an earlier B-Main win, Chad Simpson rallied through the field, overtook leader Charlie McKenna with 18 laps to spare, and raced to his fourth career "Yankee Dirt Classic" win at Farley Speedway Saturday. It was also the Mount Vernon, Ia. driver's third straight victory in the annual cliassic and his sixth special event win of the 2011 racing season.

McKenna, making his first 2011 outing in an open motor event, joined Wisconsin veteran Steve Ihm - himself making his first special event of the season - on the front row and blasted out front. McKenna pulled away, but with ten laps on the books, Ihm suddenly slowed on the track. A close running Jason Rauen clipped Ihm's car and went into a rollover that brought the red flag. Rauen, who had also moved from deep in the starting field, was not injured, but his race was over. IMCA star Andy Eckrich was also involved and was done for the night.

Skip Frey and Rick Wendling at Farley Speedway

Skip Frey leads #78 Rick Wendling before advancing to seventh at Farley, while Wendling made an early exit. (Darrel Unzel)

With the new start, Denny Eckrich - the only other four-time winner of this event, and brother Dave Eckrich held down second and third, while Simpson had already made his way to fourth. Staying committed to the low side of the track, Simpson quickly rolled into third after the green, overtook Denny Eckrich for second just past the halfway point, and finally reeled in McKenna for the lead five laps later.

Starting Field

Late Model and Modified race entries meet up on the frontstretch at Farley. (Darrel Unzel)

A final caution with less than ten laps to go saw fifth running Chris Simpson eliminated in a tangle with Jeremiah Hurst. Matt Furman and Hurst soon followed as the attrition continued to mount. As Denny Eckrich began to fade through the final circuits and McKenna suffered a flat tire, Dave Eckrich returned to the second spot, and Justin Mitchell, Curt Martin,and Joel Callahan rallied into the top five. Simpson stayed well out in front to claim the $7,500 victory with less than half of the starting field still on track. 

Chad Simpson VL at Farley Speedway

Chad Simpson and entourage after his big win at Farley. (Darrell Unzel)

Farley Speedway "Yankee Dirt Classic"
1) Chad Simpson, 2) Dave Eckrich, 3) Justin Mitchell, 4) Curt Martin, 5) Joel Callahan, 6) Denny Eckrich, 7) Skip Frey, 8) Charlie McKenna, 9) Dan Shelliam, 10) Andrew McKay, 11) Scott Reichers, 12) Jeremiah Hurst, 13) Matt Furman, 14) Chris Simpson, 15) Rick Wendling, 16) Mike Fryer, 17) Jay Johnson, 18) Kurt Kile, 19) Brian Harris, 20) Justin Kay, 21) Steve Ihm, 22) Jason Rauen, 23) Andy Eckrich, 24) Rob Moss

Jeff Bylsma photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box