- Sept. 17-18 - Lake Cumberland Speedway (NASRA) by Sam Holbrooks


Greg Johnson - Lake Cumberland Speedway NASRA/Volunteer winner

Volunteer/NASRA: Johnson Claims Third "Lake Cumberland Classic" In Race's 20th Anniversary; Marlar Claims Friday Opener

Chris Tilley                                                            (Thomas Hendrickson photo)

BURNSIDE, Ky. - Sept. 18. Greg Johnson of Bedford, Ind. claimed his third career "Lake Cumberland Classic" victory Saturday at the Lake Cumberland Speedway. The event, co-sanctioned by the Volunteer Racing Series and the National All-Star Racing Association (NASRA), paid the Indiana native $3,000.

Johnson took the lead on lap eight and went the remaining distance in the 40-lapper to take the victory over Aaron Ridley, Friday night NASRA/Volunteer winner (see results below) Skylar Marlar, Mike Weeks, and Michael Chilton.

The race was slowed by three caution flags, first on lap seven as Marlar made contact with Justin Rattliff in the turn four wall. After contact from Rattliff to Marlar as retaliation, Rattliff was black flagged, and Marlar was sent to the tail end of the field. Marlar worked his way back from the rear to finish third.

The second yellow was on lap 27 as Kenny Cobble stopped, and the third on lap 37 as Tim Patrick spun, leaving a three lap shootout to the finish. Marlar by then was already up to fourth and would make the pass for the third spot on Michael Chilton with two laps to go and would hold on for the third spot in the final run down as Johnson led Ridley to the checkers.

Sept. 17 - "Lake Cumberland Classic"
1) Greg Johnson, 2) Aaron Ridley, 3) Skylar Marlar, 4) Mike Weeks, 5) Michael Chilton, 6) Tommy Bailey, 7) David Webb, 8) Rohn Moon, 9) Johnny Wheeler, 10) Wayne Chinn, 11) Bobby Wolter, Jr.-, 12) Jeff Johnson, 13) Greg Hansford, 14) Arnie Fields, 15) Tim Patrick, 16) Darrick York (prov.), 17) Victor Lee, 18) Kenny Cobble (prov.), 19) Daniel Hatcher, 20) Justin Rattliff
Fast Time (24 entries): Greg Johnson (13:779; Heat winners: Lee, Marlar, Rattliff; Last Chance Race winner: Webb

Sept. 18 - Lake Cumberland Speedway
1) Skylar Marlar, 2) Justin Rattliff, 3) Greg Johnson, 4) David Webb, 5) Todd Coffman, 6) Michael Chilton, 7) Mike Weeks, 8) Ross White, 9) Rohn Moon, 10) Johnny Wheeler, 11) Aaron Ridley, 12) Tommy Bailey, 13) Daniel Hatcher, 14) Mike Strunk (prov.), 15) Wesley Brummett, 16) Arnie Fields (prov.), 17) Victor Lee, 18) Brian Smith, 19) Bobby Wolter, Jr., 20) Mark Walters
Fast Time (31 entries): Victor Lee (13:142); Heat winners: Webb, Weeks, Rattliff, Marlar; Last Chance Race winner: Chilton.

Thomas Hendrickson photo


Updated 11/02/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine