- Sept. 16 - Farley Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Deery: Neal is First in Brodix "Silver Anniversary Shootout" Preliminary at Farley

Bill Martin

FARLEY, Ia. – Sept. 16. Showing the same speed that earned him the 2005 Deery Brothers Summer Series title, Terry Neal led flag to flag in winning Friday’s Brodix "Silver Anniversary Shootout" opening event at Farley Speedway.

The 20-lap event paid $1,000 and featured a dozen drivers who have won national IMCA Late Model or Deery Series championships over the past 25 years.

Neal got into lapped traffic with two laps to go but was comfortably ahead of Mark Burgtorf at the checkers. Jay Johnson, Terry Schlipman and hard charger Ray Guss Jr. followed.

Guss has already secured his second consecutive national crown, has the upper hand in his bid for a second straight series prize, and made his way from 12th starting to complete the top five.

Neal, Burgtorf, Johnson and Guss were also among the 18 drivers who qualified for Saturday’s $7,500 to win Deery Series main event during the "Yankee Dirt Track Classic" special at Farley.

The top two finishers from each of five heat races (among 47 entries) and the top four from each of two “B” features are already in the big show. Completing the 24-car field will be the winners of two last-chance races, the hard charger provisional and three series provisional starters.

Colby Springsteen won the drawing for a set of four BSB shocks. Guss pocketed the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing prize.

A 13th former IMCA Late Model champion was at Farley on Friday as Layne Meyer helped con­duct the draw for the Shootout.

Qualifying heats and a “B” feature were also held for the JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour. A last-chance feature will complete the field for Saturday’s $1,000 to win IMCA Modified main event. 

Modified heat winners were Richie Gustin, Josh Foster and Mark Schulte. Chris Horn was the “B” winner. 

Deery Brothers "Brodix Silver Anniversary Shootout" at Farley - Night #1
1)Terry Neal, 2) Mark Burgtorf, 3) Jay John­son, 4) Terry Schlipman, 5) Ray Guss Jr., 6) Jeremy Grady, 7) Darrel DeFrance, 8) Jeff French, 9) Boone McLaugh­lin,10) Curt Martin, 11) Mike Smith, 12) Denny Osborn
Heat winners (47 entries): A. Eckrich, Guengerich, D. Eckrich, Bruening, Neal; B-Feature winners: Callahan; Guss.

John Vass photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box