- Sept. 15-18 - Farley Speedway Yankee Dirt Classic by Sam Holbrooks

Yankee Dirt Classic
Chad Simpson - Brian Birkhofer - Yankee Dirt Classic 
Chad Simpson keeps #15 Brian Birkhofer in check to lead the previous "Yankee Dirt Classic" champion to the checkered flag at Farley. (Mike Ruefer) 
Chad Simpson after the biggest win of his career, worth $15,000 at Farley. (Mike Ruefer)
Simpson Wins Big in Abbreviated
"Yankee Dirt Classic" at Farley 
Larry Bontz 
FARLEY, Ia. - Sept. 18. Chad Simpson grabbed the lead at the drop of the green flag and never looked back enroute to capturing his biggest payday
of his still young racing career, capturing his third "Yankee Dirt Track Classic" win and a whopping $15,000 first place prize.
Simpson, who had earlier in the evening won the six lap dash started on the pole of the 100-lapper with Crane, Missouri's Will Vaught alongside at the
Chad Simpson - Brian Birkhofer - Will Vaught - Yankee Dirt Classic 
As always there was no shortage of flag-wavers at Farley. Chris Simpson (2nd from left), Brian Birkhofer (center) and Will Vaught (right) finished one-two-three in a rain-shortened event this year. (Mike Ruefer) 
Brian Harris - Keith Foss - Jake Mier - Yankee Dirt Classic 
After changing a tire during the "Yankee Dirt Classic", #21 Brian Harris races past tenth and 13th finishing Keith Foss (#95) and Jake Meier (#20) back to a fifth place finish. (Mike Ruefer)  
outset. Several laps later, Brian Birkhofer, a 2002 winner of this coveted event, replaced Vaulght for second place and set his sights on leader Simpson, who Birkhofer at bay throughout.
Athe the halfway mark, wicked lightning to the west of the race track let race officials know that threatening weather would probably curtail this one, and another ten laps were run before veteran flagman Doug Haack concurred with other track officials that, after 78 laps, the racing surface had gone away, and Simpson was crowned the winner for a third time.
Will Vaught - Dennis Erb - Yankee Dirt Classic 
Dennis Erb, Jr. chases #1 Will Vaught before posting a fourth place finish at Farley. (Mike Ruefer) 
The 2009 and 2010 Dart Corn Belt Clash Champion enjoyed the richest payday of his Late Model career with the $15,000 top prize. Birkhofer was second, with Vaught third over Dennis Erb, Jr. and Brian Harris who changed a tire and came from the rear of the pack to run fifth
The winner's brother, Chris Simpson, came from the Chief's Pump Service last chance race to run sixth ahead of John Anderson, Jason Rauen, Curt Martin, and Keith Foss.
Yankee Dirt Track Classic by Crashed
1) Chad Simpson 2) Brian Birkhofer 3) Will Vaught 4) Dennis Erb, Jr. 5) Brian Harris 6) Chris Simpson 7) John Anderson 8) Jason Rauen 9) Curt Martin 10) Keith Foss 11) Mike Fryar 12) Ace Ihm 13) Jake Meier 14) Ron Klein 15) Rick Wendling 16) Kurt Kile 17) Justin Mitchell 18) Dan Shelliam 19) Jeremiah Hurst 20) Skip Frey 21) Kerry Hansen 22) Denny Eckrich 23) Jeff Larson 24) Rob Moss
Last Chance Feature (Top two transfer): Hansen, Chris Simpson; Dash winner: Chad Simpson

Jeff Bylsma photo


Updated 11/02/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine