- Sept. 11 - Davenport Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Ray Guss Jr at Davenport Speedway

Ray Guss, Jr. enjoys a large lead that he got after Denny Eckrich and Colby Springsteen got together on lap 16 of the 40-lap Deery Brothers special at Davenport Speedway on Sunday. The Iowa veteran earned $3,000 for his night's work. (Chris Damitz)

IMCA Deery Bros.: No Snow, No Rain, No Keeping Guss From Victory Lane at Davenport 

Ray Guss Jr at Davenport Speedway
Ray Guss, Jr. at Davenport Speedway with Dirt Racer Magazine presenter Stacy Vander Heiden after his $3,000 Deery Brothers Summer Series win. (Chris Damitz)
Bill Martin

DAVENPORT, Ia. – Sept. 11. Snow, then rain were to blame for postponing the first two at­tempts at getting in the Deery Brothers Summer Series event at Davenport Speedway.

There was nothing to keep Ray Guss Jr. from winning the twice-rescheduled IMCA Late Model tour feature on Sunday night, however.

Guss sped to the lead when front-running Colby Springsteen and Denny Eckrich got together on the 16th of 40 laps. He pulled away from the rest of the pack from that point, beating Eckrich to the fin­ish line by half a straightaway. 

Along with a $3,000 check, Guss upped his advantage in the silver anniversary series point race by four over fifth-finishing Andy Eckrich. Guss will have to hold off his challenger for two more events, the Sept. 16-17 Yankee Dirt Track Classic at Farley Speedway and the Sept. 24-25 finale at Quad City Speedway, before he can claim a second straight Deery crown. 

Nate Beuseling was third and Mike Klinkhammer fourth in the All-Star Classic headliner. 

Andy Eckrich picked up fast time honors at Davenport. (Chris Damitz)
Springsteen, fresh from his Labor Day win at the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Cenex, looked like a strong contender after drawing the pole.

He opened a big lead and was into lapped traffic before the caution flag came out. After the re­start, the fifth-starting Denny Eckrich applied heavy pressure from the outside. The front pair came together, giving Guss the opportunity to drive by.

The win was his second this season and career 23rd. He’s now alone in fourth place on the all-time list for the tour, behind Jeff Aikey with 55, Mark Burgtorf with 26 and Curt Martin with 25. Gary Webb, who was 13th at Davenport, owns 22 Deery checkers.

Andy Eckrich won the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing.Winter hadn’t quite given up its grip on the Davenport area when the original Deery date was post­poned from April 15. Rain right about the time hot laps were to begin kiboshed the first resched­uled date of Sept. 9. 

IMCA Deery Bros. at Davenport Speedway
1) Ray Guss, Jr., 2) Denny Eckrich, 3) Nate Beuseling, 4) Mike Klinkhammer, 5) Andy Eckrich, 6) Brian Harris, 7) Justin Reed, 8) Tommy Elston, 9) Terry Neal, 10) Colby Springsteen, 11) Stephan Kammerer, 12) Darrel DeFrance, 13) Gary Webb, 14) Mike Garland, 15) Spencer Diercks, 16) Joe Ross, 17) Todd Malmstrom, 18) Charlie McKenna, 19) Chad Patch, 20) Marty Diercks, 21) Justin Kay, 22) Travis Denning, 23) Eric Sanders, 24) Doug Nigh.
Heat winners: Eckrich, Diercks, Harris.

Mike Ruefer photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box