- Oct. 9 - Dixie Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Scott Bloomquist - Earl Pearson Jr - Dixie Shootout

Scott Bloomquist races by a slowing #44 of Earl Pearson, Jr. on his way to another "Shootout" win at Dixie Speedway and his second Lucas Oil Late Model Series title. Pearson lost his lead to a flat tire (Michael Moats)

Scott Bloomquist VL Dixie - Lucas Oil Series Dixie Shootout

Scott Bloomquist with Dixie Speedway owner Mickey Swims and a couple of underfed Barbie dolls. (Michael Moats) 

Lucas Oil Series: Bloomquist Outguns Shootout Field, Puts Second Straight Title On Ice

James Essex

WOODSTOCK, Ga. - Oct. 9. Taking charge of the lead after Earl Pearson's early flat tire, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tennessee went on to clinch his second consecutive Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series national title by winning his fifth Lucas Oil “Dixie Shootout” on Saturday at Dixie Speedway.  The 46-year-old veteran also collected the 501st win of his career and his eighth national driving championship.

Steve Francis - John Blankenship - Dixie Shootout

Steve Francis, back in the red and yellow that he wore two decades ago, ultimately won his race with John Blankenship at the scales, as the #23 was disqualified for coming in light. (Michael Moats)

Bloomquist led the final 41 laps to take the $10,000 first place prize ahead of a late-race charge from Shane Clanton, Chris Madden, 16th starting Shannon Babb, and 23rd starting Jimmy Owens, who finished fifth after John Blankenship weighed in light at the scales.

“Earl fired off real good at the start, I am not sure what tires he had on, but he was running up in the rough and I knew if he kept doing that the tires couldn’t take the punishment and he eventually had the flat. We tried to be

David Payne - Josh Richards - Bub McCool - Moats

Having unveiled his traditional scary Halloween motif in the spirit of the season, #57 Bub McCool races outside of area driver David Payne (#8) and #25 Josh Richards. (Michael Moats)

smooth from then on after what happened to Pearson, I tried to stay lower than the cushion and it worked out good, I didn’t know how much of a lead I had, but we’re glad to wrap up the title with this win. Now we can relax heading to Rome, knowing it’s sewed up,” said Bloomquist who captured his all-time series leading 26th win.

Bloomquist and four-time series champion Pearson started on the front row.  Pearson led the first eight circuits until he developed a right rear flat tire under caution. Pearson pitted for a new tire, but he was relegated to the rear of the field for the restart.

David Payne - Steve Casebolt - Dale McDowell - Casey Roberts - Dixie Speedway

Indiana's Steve Casebolt finds himself surrounded by a trio of Georgia racers, David Payne (#8), #17 Dale MCDowell, and #101 Casey Roberts. Casebolt's race ended at the wall late on lap 36. (Michael Moats)

Bloomquist inherited the lead after Pearson’s misfortune as he led Clanton, Madden, Don O’Neal and Randy Weaver to the green flag. O’Neal, who was solid early on in the race, started to fade with right front suspension problems on his car as he yielded to Weaver and Steve Francis in the running order.

Bloomquist had a six-car length lead over Clanton as the final caution flew on lap 36 when Steve Casebolt contacted the front stretch wall.  After the restart, Clanton made one-last lap ditch effort as he closed to a car length and a half on Bloomquist, but Bloomquist held him off. 

Oct. 3 - Lucas Oil Series - Dixie Speedway
1) Scott Bloomquist, 2) Shane Clanton, 3) Chris Madden, 4) Shannon Babb, 5) Jimmy Owens (prov.), 6) Steve Francis, 7) Brady Smith, 8) Dale McDowell, 9) Chris Wall, 10) David Payne, 11) Josh Richards, 12) Don O'Neal, 13) Brad Neat, 14) Casey Roberts, 15) Randy Weaver, 16) Steve Casebolt, 17) Earl Pearson, Jr., 18) Ray Cook, 19) Tony Knowles, 20) Bub McCool, 21) Mike Marlar, 22) Clint Smith, 23) Frank Ingram, 24) John Blankenship (prov.)

Fast Time (57 entries): Bloomquist (14.136); Heat race winners: Bloomquist, Clanton, O’Neal, Pearson, McDowell, Madden; B-Mains winners: Smith, Neat.

Rick Schwallie photo 


Updated 11/02/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine