- Oct. 8 - Dixie Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Scott Bloomquist leads Don O'Neal on the first lap of the Dixie Speedway Lucas Oil Series event on Saturday. O'Neal was out by lap two and Bloomquist went on to his 18th special event win of the season. (Craig Whyte)

Lucas Oil Series: Bloomquist Point Lead Gets Some Breathing Room at Dixie 
James Essex 
WOODSTOCK, Ga.  – Oct. 8. Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn. picked up a big win on Saturday at Dixie Speedway. The victory marked his sixth career Lucas Oil Dixie Shootout, in front of the near-record crowd. With the $10,000 to win triumph, Bloomquist extended his Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series points lead to 65 over Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., who finished fourth. 
Bloomquist grabbed the lead at the start of the race with Don O’Neal and Ray Cook behind him. O’Neal developed problems on the second lap as his car began having handling problems, which forced him out of the race. 
Putting in a stout second place performance against the Lucas Series reulars, Ray Cook moves outside of provisional starter Eric Wells. (Craig Whyte)
Houston area standout Chris Brown and East Tennessee's Billy Ogle, Jr. mix it up at midpack before settling for 13th and 14th. (Craig Whyte)
When the race resumed Bloomquist held the point with Cook in the runner-up slot. Bloomquist pulled away from Cook as the race progressed. Bloomquist started to hit heavy traffic with 13 laps complete. With heavy traffic to deal with for the leader, Cook and Casebolt started to close on him at the halfway mark of the race. Casebolt moved into second on lap 28 passing Cook as the trio of Bloomquist, Casebolt and Cook were all battling for the lead. 
Casebolt tried a repeatedly to get underneath Bloomquist for the lead as they continued to race through traffic. With 37 laps scored a caution came out for 2011 Dixie Speedway Track Champion, Michael Page who slowed on the front stretch.  During the caution Casebolt relinquished his second place running position as he headed to the pits with axle issue in his car. 
Cook then moved into second with Chris Madden now running third. On the restart Madden took over second as Cook dropped to third. Madden ran second until he fell out of the race with just two laps remaining. 
Area standout Chip Brindle and #23 John Blankenship at Dixie. (Craig Whyte)
Steve Francis and #41 Brad Neat race for position inside the top ten at Dixie. (Craig Whyte)
Bloomquist cruised to the finish unchallenged in the final laps as he secured his 15th Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of 2011. His victory comes in his Roush-Yates Ford powered Bloomquist Race Cars entry. “It was a good points night for us, we set fast time in our group and led every lap here tonight in the heat and feature. There are still two more races to go so it’s not over yet. I know Jimmy will fight all the way to end next week at KC.” 
Cook, in one of his best Lucas Oil Series finishes of the year took second and Clanton placed third. Owens, who started 11th, came home fourth, while Reddick had his second consecutive top five finish. 
Oct. 8 - Lucas Oil Series at Dixie Speedway
1) Scott Bloomquist, 2) Ray Cook, 3) Shane Clanton, 4) Jimmy Owens, 5) Tyler Reddick, 6) Aaron Ridley, 7) Brad Neat, 8) Jonathan Davenport, 9) Steve Francis, 10) Clint Smith, 11) John Blankenship, 12) David Payne, 13) Billy Ogle, 14) Chris Brown, 15) Jared Landers (prov.), 16) Chip Brindle, 17) Earl Pearson, Jr. (prov.), 18) Chris Madden, 19) Eric Jacobsen, 20) Mike Marlar, 21) Steve Casebolt, 22) Michael Page, 23) Eric Wells (prov.), 24) Dale McDowell, 25) Don O'Neal
Fast Time (53 entries): O'Neal (15.109); Heat winners; Bloomquist, Cook, O’Neal, Ridley; B-Main winners: Brindle, Blankenship

Mark Schaefer photo

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box