- Oct. 7 - Heartland Park Topeka by Sam Holbrooks


With Billy Moyer, Jr. out front, #75 Terry Phillips and #33 Al Purkey were left to second second at HPT. (Lloyd Collins)


MLRA: Moyer's a Capitol City Sweeper at Heartland Park Topeka



Billy Moyer, Jr. after a big second win at Heartland Park Topeka. (Lloyd Collins)
Trenton Berry


TOPEKA, Kan. - Oct. 7. After leading the first 13 laps of Saturday's Lucas Oil MLRA event at Heartland Park Topeka, Billy Moyer Jr. lost the lead, then regained it to race his second win on a "Capitol City Clash" weekend.


Moyer was held up in lapped traffic and John Anderson took the lead on lap 14. Anderson would remain out front until contact between he and Robbie Andersen on lap 37 warranted a late race yellow flag, handing the top spot back to Moyer.


"I was real patient in traffic and he got me like that," said Moyer of the early pass by Anderson. "As bad as we've been, I wanted to win so bad I can't stand it. To get two of these is awesome."


John Anderson led part of the HPT event until he tangled with a lapped car and pitted before returning for an 11th place finish. Al Purkey (33) took third. (Lloyd Collins) 


Young Oklahoma driver Gary Christian and #7 Jerry Lierly at Heartland Park Topeka. (Lloyd Collins)


Anderson pulled to the pit area, and rejoined the field just before the final restart went green. He finished 11th in the final rundown. Al Purkey's third place finish, puts both he and Anderson tied for the point lead with just two races remaining in the season.


Next weekend the Lucas Oil MLRA will crown the 2011 champion at West Plains Motor Speedway.


Billy Moyer, Jr. and Co. after his second win of the weekend at Heartland Park, Topeka. (Lloyd Collins) 


Oct. 7 - MLRA Heartland Park Topeka
1. Billy Moyer, Jr. 2. Terry Phillips, 3. Al Purkey, 4. Tony Jackson, Jr., 5. Joe Kosiski, 6. Jesse Stovall, 7. Gary Christian, 8. Jeremy Payne, 9. Andrew Kosiski, 10. Joe Walkenhorst, 11. John Anderson, 12. Bill Koons, 13. Robbie Andersen, 14. Kyle Stallbaumer, 15. Jerry Lierly, 16. Steve Kempt, 17. Brantlee Gotschall, 18. Justin Asplin, 19. Jason Bodenhamer, 20. Scott Koskovich, 21. Dustin Walker, 22. Shawn Lee
Heat winners: Purkey, Moyer, Anderson.

Ron Mitchell photo

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box