- Oct. 30 - K-C Raceway by Sam Holbrooks


O'Reilly All Stars: Montgomery Grabs First Series Win From Large K-C Field 


Jason Montgomery after a big win at K-C Raceway. (Jim Denhamer) 
 Jason Shank

CHILLICOTHE, Oh. - Oct. 30. On a night that saw the largest car count (59) in the modern history of the O’Reilly All Star Late Model Series, it was a former track champion and K-C Raceway regular, Jason Montgomery, taking home the $5,000 prize. Montgomery passed Steve Casebolt for the lead on lap 32 in the ‘Topless Trick or Treat 50" presented by Budweiser’ at K-C Raceway as the series closed its second full season.

Titusville, Pa.’s Robbie Blair used a tenth place finish in the ‘Topless Trick or Treat 50" to win his second consecutive ASLMS Championship over South Park, Pa.’s Jared Miley, who mathematically had a chance to overtake Blair in the tour’s final event, by 58 points. Gregg Satterlee of Rochester Mills, PA finished third in the final standings. Satterlee overtook Boom Briggs of Bear Lake, Pa. after Briggs was absent from the series’ final event after being injured in an ATV accident earlier in the week. Greg Oakes of Franklinville, N.Y. was fifth, while sixth positioned John Garvin, Jr., was the 2010 ASLMS "Rookie of the Year".

Rod Conley - Steve Casebolt - O'Reilly All Stars

Rod Conley started on the front row, but began to fade back to sixth place as #9 Steve Casebolt made his way to second place. (Jim Denhamer)

Doug Drown and Rod Conley led the strong topless 24 car field to the green, with Conley jumping out to the early lead before an early lap two caution for Greg Oliver and Matt Lux slowed the pace.  Conley led the ‘Delaware’ style restart and held the lead until lap three, when seventh starting Steve Casebolt shot to the lead.  Casebolt began to set a torrid pace around the fast 3/8-oval as third starting Montgomery began to reel in Conley for second.

While Casebolt continued to lead, all eyes were on the World of Outlaws Late Model Series star Darrell Lanigan, who was set to start in the fifth spot but was relegated to the rear after a flat left rear tire during pace laps. After

Steve Francis - Doug Drown - O'Reilly All Stars

Steve Francis advanced into the top five, while #12 Doug Drown produced the race's seecond caution with a flat tire. (Jim Denhamer)

starting the race on the tail and again pitting during the lap two caution, Lanigan, driving the John Weber owned #10L Rocket, had made his way up to the 15th spot by the eighth circuit and was picking cars off at a rapid pace. As Casebolt gained on lapped traffic, UMP DirtCar Summernationals Champion Jason Feger moved into fourth on lap 12, putting himself behind Montgomery and Conley, who continued to battle for second. Montgomery finally made his way around Conley on lap 17 while Blair found himself in the eighth slot on lap 20 from his 17th starting position.

Jeep Van Wormer - John Mason - O'Reilly All Stars

Jeep Van Wormer slips under #72 John Mason while #49 Greg Johnson gives chase. (Jim Denhamer)

The second and final caution of the event came for Doug Drown's flat tire on lap 21. When racing resumed it was still Casebolt at the point with Montgomery a very close second, while another WoOLMS standout, Steve Francis, battled with Zack Dohm for the fifth spot. Francis made quick work of Dohm and set his sights on Feger for fourth as Conley began to fade, moving the hard charging Lanigan into the top five on lap 26.

While Lanigan continued his battle back to the front, Montgomery made his way under Casebolt for the lead. The two battled side-by-side for a solid six laps before Montgomery nosed ahead at the line on lap 32. When the two exited turn two, Casebolt slid up out of the groove and onto the plateau off the backstretch, losing valuable real estate to Montgomery.

Zach Dohm - Jason Feger - O'Reilly All Stars

Zach Dohm and #25 Jason Feger race for position before Feger moves on to third place in the final rundown. (Jim Denhamer) 

Jason Montgomery VL - O'Reilly All Stars at K-C Raceway

Jason Montgomery at K-C Raceway. (Jim Denhamer)

The laps began to tick away quickly for Montgomery as he held the lead over Casebolt, Feger, and Francis. Lanigan made his way around Francis for the fourth spot before the field began to run single file around the bottom of K-C Raceway. With less than three laps remaining, a blanket could have covered the top five cars as the all ran nose-to-tail with Casebolt taking on last ditch effort to get by Montgomery after taking the white flag. Montgomery and Casebolt made contact in the middle of turns one and two, but Montgomery was able to fend off the valiant effort by Casebolt to capture his first career ASLMS victory. Casebolt came across the line in second followed by Feger, Lanigan, and Francis.

O'Reilly All Stars - K-C Raceway

1) Jason Montgomery, 2) Steve Casebolt, 3) Jason Feger, 4) Darrell Lanigan, 5) Steve Francis, 6) Rod Conley, 7) Zack Dohm, 8) Robbie Blair, 9) R.J. Conley, 10) Jeep VanWormer, 11) Delmas Conley, 12) Gregg Satterlee, 13) Jared Miley, 14) Donnie Moran, 15) Eddie Carrier, Jr., 16) John Mason, 17) Audie Swartz, 18) Greg Johnson, 19) Rick Aukland, 20) Duane Chamberlain, 21) Greg Oliver, 22) Doug Drown, 23) Russ Frohnapfel, 24) Matt Lux

Jim Denhamer photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine