- Oct. 2 - Lakeside Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Dale McDowell and Jared Landers - Lakeside Speedway MLRA

Dale McDowell and Jared Landers travel Lakeside Speedway's front straightaway in the one-two spots, where they would finish. (Lloyd Collins)


MLRA: McDowell Prevails as Team Cheerio Gets Two Biggest Chex at Lakeside Final


Ashley Berry


KANSAS CITY, Kan. - Oct. 2.  Heading up a one-two finish with his Arkansas-based teammate, Welcome, North Carolina's Dale McDowell drove his Cheerios/Dollar General #17M into victory lane Saturday at Lakeside Speedway. McDowell's, Clint Bowyer Racing team mate, Jared Landers followed him to the checkers, for the top two honors of the evening. 


Both McDowell and Landers drive Earnhardt Childress Racing Engines with Warrior Chassis.


Dale McDowell VL - Lakeside Speedway MLRA

Dale McDowell after his second win of the season and first with the MLRA. (Lloyd Collins)


While McDowell started the feature on the outside pole, and quickly took the lead, a caution before lap one was complete ended Friday night winner Eric Turner's night. The field would restart after the with McDowell and the #14 Federal Protection car of Brad Looney up front. McDowell slid by Looney and led the remainder of the $5000 to win feature.


Al Purkey worked his way into the second position before Landers made a charge on lap 20 to take the spot. Purkey's third place finish was followed by Travis Dickes in the #21T and the #95 of Keith Foss in fifth. Terry Phillips


Brad Looney - Keith Foss - MLRA at Lakeside Speedway

Clinging to a narrow two-point lead in the MLRA title chase at race's end after slippiing from the front row to tenth,  Brad Looney is passed by #95 Keith Foss, who drove into the top five. (Lloyd Collins)


 Travis Dickes - MLRA at Lakeside Speedway

Finding plenty of room to race, Travis Dickes put in a strong showing to pick up fourth on the MLRA tour's second night of racing at Lakeside. (Lloyd Collins)


started his GRT by Phillips in 12th and was able to finish sixth. Driving for Steve Rushin in the #14JR, Jesse Stovall finished seventh as Kurt Kile, Kyle Berck and Jeremy Payne completed the top ten at the conclusion of the 40 lap feature.


It is no secret the Lucas Oil MLRA point's battle is heating up. Going into Saturday's race, only 14 points separated points leader Brad Looney from Dave Eckrich in second. Eckrich finished Saturday's race in 15th, with Looney in 10th.


Jesse Stovall - Terry Phillips - MLRA at Lakeside Speedway

Driving Steve Rushin's #14 that was recently vacated by Eric Turner, Jesse Stovall gives up a spot to #75 Terry Phillips before the two finished sixth and seventh. (Lloyd Collins)


 Al Purkey's 3rd place finish bumped him up over Eckrich for the 2nd spot in the points championship battle. Looney was able to hold onto the top points position by only two points over Purkey with only four nights of racing remaining on the schedule.


Saturday's car count matched the Friday night field with 41 late models and more than 60 modifieds. The Clyde Ellis Late Model Showdown and Modified Shootout proved to be a success, attracting large crowds both nights. 


 Jeremy Payne - John Anderson - MLRA at Lakeside Speedway

Two of the region's strongest performers were never in contention for the win, as #74 Jeremy Payne and #2 John Anderson, race back at mid-field.  (Lloyd Collins)


 Three cars from each of the two B-Features transferred to the A Main Event. In the first B-feature, Eckrich led the field for the entire quick 10 laps, securing his starting position in the feature with hopes to maintain a top three point position. Kurt Kile finished in second with the #56JR of Tony Jackson, Jr. taking the third transfer position. After not passing post race tech on night one of the Clyde Ellis Late Model Showdown, Jackson made his way into the A Main event with another top three finish in the B Feature.


In the second B Feature event, Evan Hubert jumped out early to lead nearly all ten laps before Berck passed the #9E with one lap to go. Brandon McCormick took the third finishing position to transfer to the A Main.  



Oct. 2 - MLRA - Lakeside Speedway 
1. Dale McDowell, 2. Jared Landers, 3. Al Purkey, 4. Travis Dickes, 5. Keith Foss, 6. Terry Phillips, 7. Jesse Stovall, 8. Kyle Berck, 9. Kurt Kile , 10. Brad Looney, 11. Jeremy Payne, 12. Delbert Smith, 13. Andrew McKay, 14. Tony Jackson, 15. Dave Eckrich, 16. Joe Kosiski (prov.), 17. J.D. Hubert, 18. Justin Asplin (prov.), 19. John Anderson, 20. Brandon McCormick, 21. David Turner, 22. Evan Hubert, 23. Sonny Findling, 24. Eric Turner.
Heat winners: Looney, McDowell, Turner, Smith; B-feature winners: Eckrich, Berck

Thomas Hendrickson photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine