- Oct. 1 - Springfield Raceway by Sam Holbrooks


John Anderson after Larry Phillips Memorial

John Anderson at Springfield Raceway. (Lloyd Collins)


MLRA/MARS: Anderson On a Roll; Takes "Phillips Memorial" at Springfield


Trenton Berry


SPRINGFIELD, Mo. - Oct. 1. John Anderson swapped the top spot with R.C . Whitwell three times Saturday en route to his first ever win at the Springfield Raceway in Lucas Oil MLRA competition. The win is Anderson's third in the last four series races.


"I had to get up there on the wheel a little bit," Anderson said of his battle with Whitwell. "This is a fast racy little joint." Anderson gained a few points on Al Purkey who finished fourth. "We're having a great time with Al trying to race this thing out. We're doing really well right now."


Jesse Stovall, Shane Essary, and Brad Looney


Jesse Stovall, Brad Looney, and Shane Essary in a fierce fight for positions 7,8,9 at Springfield. (Ron Mitchell)


Billy Koons Jr, Al Purkey, and Tony Jackson Jr

Battling for fourth place, #56 Tony Jackson, Jr. and Al Purkey race past #51 Billy Koons, Jr. (Lloyd Collins)


For Whitwell, his runner up finish it was his best Lucas Oil MLRA finish of the season. "I had a good battle with John Anderson there," stated Whitwell. "I wish I would have had it a little tick faster, he ended up pulling away."


Jeremy Payne was the evening's hard charger. After winning the B Feature, Payne raced to as high as second, before finishing third.


"It was a good night," commented Payne, who started the 40-lap Lucas Cattle Company A Feature from 15th. "We just started so far back, with this competition, it's hard to get up there and win." The evening's final yellow came out with 10 laps to go. "I was really good the longer we ran. I hated to see that yellow at the end, my car just wouldn't take off."


Justin Wells, Whitwell, Jesse Stovall, Michael Kloos and Justin Asplin all secured heat race wins. Jeremy Payne and Evan Hubert won B Features.


Michael Kloos and Tony Jackson Jr at Springfield Raceway

Illinois ace Michael Kloos (6) won his heat race in a rare road trip and came away with a respectable sixth place showing at Springfield. (Ron Mitchell)

Brad Looney at Springfield Raceway

Brad Looney could only muster ninth place Springfield, but the bigger prize was his as the Republic, Mo. veteran put the finishing touches on his first MARS series championship. (Ron Mitchell) 

Oct. 1 - MLRA/MARS Larry Phillips Memorial
1. John Anderson 2. R.C. Whitwell 3. Jeremy Payne 4. Al Purkey 5. Tony Jackson Jr. 6. Michael Kloos 7. Jesse Stovall 8. Shane Essary 9. Brad Looney 10. Joe Kosiski 11. Bill Koons 12. Terry Phillips 13. Evan Hubert 14. Justin Asplin 15. Dustin Walker 16. Billy Koons Jr. 17. Rex Merritt 18. Dustin Mooneyham 19. Bryon Allison 20. Leroy Johnson 21. Rick Lebow 22. Justin Wells
Heat winners (39 entries): Wells, Whitwell, Stovall, Kloos; B-Main winners: Payne, Hubert.

Ron Mitchell photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box