- Oct. 1 - Knoxville Late Model Nationals - Race 2 by Sam Holbrooks


Billy Moyer - Oct 1 - Knoxville Raceway

Conrad Nelson photo

Moyer Catches Richards In Traffic, Nails Night Two at Knoxville

KNOXVILLE, Ia. - Oct. 1. Billy Moyer reeled in leader Josh Richards in late-race traffic and put his familiar #21 into Victory Lane for the second night in a row at Knoxville Raceway Friday. It was Moyer's 23rd win of the season.

With Moyer lining up sixth, Richards earned the pole position to start inside of Missouri's Will Vaught, who led the first two circuits, but hopped the cushion in the fight for the lead on lap three. The young driver cut a tire down and pitted during the race's only caution. Scott Bloomquist and Shannon Babb both pitted and returned under the yellow as Richards led the field back to green.

Jason Rauen into wall - Knoxville Late Model Nationals

Jason Rauen bites the all and the wall bites back at Knoxville on night #2 of the "Late Model Nationals". (Conrad Nelson)

Richards was chased by Henderson, Colorado ace Kelly Boen, but Moyer was on the move, briefly dueling Dan Schlieper before grabbing fourth. He then hit the cushion and sailed around the outside of both Darrell Lanigan and Boen to take second in a single turn. Boen wasn't letting Moyer get away though, as he continued to ride Moyer's tail.

Rick Eckert - Brad Neat - Knoxville Late Model Nationals

Rick Eckert and #41 Brad Neat at Knoxville. (Conrad Nelson)

Richards caught the rear of the field at the 25-lap race's midpoint, putting Chris Spieker a lap down with 11 to go. Richards was having less success with Quincy, Illinois' Mark Burgtorf, however, and the duo of Moyer and Boen began to close up quickly on the leader. Still troubled by Burgtorf, running the same line as the leader, Richards was still struggling when both Moyer and Boen found their opening and shot past Richards on lap 21.

With that that, Moyer covered his line well on a track that had quickly begun to lock down and elected to stay on Burgtorf's rear deck until taking the checkered flag with Boen still right behind. Richards had to settle for third after holding off Lanigan, with Tim McCreadie coming on strong to post fifth after starting 15th.

Oct. 1 - Knoxville Late Model Nationals - Race #2
1. Billy Moyer, 2. Kelly Boen, 3. Josh Richards, 4. Darrell Lanigan, 5. Tim McCreadie, 6. Brian Birkhofer, 7. Dan Schlieper, 8. Steve Francis, 9. Darren Miller, 10. Austin Hubbard, 11. Scott James, 12. Chad Simpson, 13. Denny Eckrich, 14. Jimmy Mars, 15. Jimmy Owens, 16. Shannon Babb, 17. Will Vaught, 18. Jason Utter, 19. Nick Marolf, 20. Rick Eckert, 21. Rich Bell, 22. Mark Burgtorf, 23. Chris Spieker, 24. Scott Bloomquist
Fast Time (53 entries): Birkhofer (18.079); Heat winners: McCreadie, Simpson, Bloomquist, Lanigan, James; B-Feature Winner: Owens

Drew England photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine