- Oct. 16 - West Liberty Raceway by Sam Holbrooks


Darren Miller at West Livberty Raceway

Darren Miller during one of two trips to Victory Lane last Saturday night. (Mike Ruefer)
Miller Sweeps Late Models in Two Flavors at West Liberty

WEST LIBERTY, Ia. - Oct. 16. A year after after closing down his own racing operation, Darren Miller is back with a vengeance in 2010. The Chadwick, Ill. racer swept both feature events slated for West Liberty Raceway, winning $3,500 for each, plus a $1,000 bonus for winning both.


Brian Birkhofer at West Liberty Raceway

Brian Birkhofer led most of the Open Late Model feature at West Lib, but would be following Darren Miller by race's end. (Mike Ruefer)

The event featured twin events for the area's Open Late Model teams, and another for those who compete regularly in IMCA special events and IMCA-sanctioned tracks. In the Open event, Miller tracked perennial favorite Brian Birkhofer for most of the race until past the midpoint, when he drove by the Muscatine, Ia. ace and drove to a dominant win.

Jasn Utter - Liberty 100

Jason utter moves toward third place at West Lib. (Mike Ruefer)

Birkhofer nailed down second, ahead of Jason Utter, Nick Marolf, and Chris Simpson.

Miler then capped the night off with a win in the second 50-lapper, leading Andy Eckrich, a "Super" Late Model driver who made his first entry into the more restricted IMCA Late Model fraternity this year. Completing the top five were Ray Guss, Jr., Jeff Aikey, and Tommy Elston.

Andy Eckrich - Jeff Aikey - West Liberty

Andy Eckrich races #77 Jeff Aikey before racing to second place behind Miller during the IMCA portion of the "Liberty 100". (Mike Ruefer)

Oct. 16 - Liberty 100

Open Late Models: 1) Darren Miller, 2) Brian Birkhofer, 3) Jason Utter, 4) Nick Marolf, 5) Chris Simpson, 6) Brian Harris, 7) Andy Eckrich, 8) Kurt Kile, 9) Kevin Kile, 10) Jeremiah Hurst, 11) Jake Meier, 12) Rob Moss, 13) Boone McLaughlin, 14) Steve Boley, 15) Joel Callahan, 16) Mike Klinkhammer, 17) Jeff Guerich, 18) Justin Mitchell, 19) Justin Mitchell, 20) Dave Eckrich, 21) Mike Fryer, 22) Richie Bell, 23) Jay Johnson, 24) Skip Frey.

IMCA Late Models: 1) Darren Miller, 2) Andy Eckrich, 3) Ray Guss, Jr., 4) Jeff Aikey, 5) Tommy Elston, 6) Mike Garland, 7) Boone McLaughlin, 8) Colby Springstein, 9) Jeremiah Hurst, 10) Darrell Defrance, 11) Matt Ryan, 12) Jay Johnson, 13) Jay Chenoweth, 14) Gary Webb, 15) Tyler Breuning, 16) Jason Bahls, 17) Todd Hormel, 18) Joel Callahan, 19) Jon Merfeld, 20) Stephen Krammerer, 21) Terry Neal, 22) Sam Halsted. 23) Rob Toland, 24) Nat Bruesling.

Mike Ruefer photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine