- Nov. 6 - World Finals Race no.1 - Charlotte Motor Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Jonathan Davenport VL1 at Charlotte

Jonathan Davenport was all smiles after his win in the Saturday afternoon "World Finals" opener. (George Missita)

World of Outlaws: Tire Gamble Gives Davenport Dominant First Series Win in "World Finals" Opener

Kevin Kovac

CONCORD, N.C. - Nov. 6. A shrewd tire-compound choice propelled Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., to a convincing victory in Saturday afternoon's postponed 40-lap World of Outlaws Late Model Series A-Main during the Lowes Foods World of Outlaws "World Finals" Presented by Bimbo Bakeries and Tom's Snacks at The Dirt Track at Charlotte.

With a hard 70-compound Hoosier tire bolted on the right-rear corner of his Barry Wright Race Cars house car, Davenport was able to master the four-

Jonathan Davenport at Charlotte Motor Speedway World of Outlaws

Jonathan Davenport navigates the Dirt Track at Charlotte en route to a Saturday afternoon World of Outlaws win. (George Missita)

tenths-mile oval’s sun-baked afternoon surface. He surged forward from the sixth starting spot to pass Tim McCreadie of Watertown, N.Y., for the lead on lap 11 and never looked back en route to his first career WoO LMS triumph.

Davenport, who turned 27 on Oct. 31, also presented veteran car builder Barry Wright a first-ever triumph on the national tour.

“This is real exciting,” said Davenport, who earned $10,500 for bagging a checkered flag in the first half of a Lowes Foods World Finals doubleheader that attracted more than 14,000 fans. “You can’t get no bigger crowd than this, and I’ve always loved this place.”

Rick Eckert of York, Pa., who started from the outside pole, crossed the finish line 3.140 seconds behind Davenport after inheriting the runner-up spot on lap 37 when McCreadie slowed with a flat right-rear tire. McCreadie started from the pole position and led laps 1-10.

Chris Madden - Dale McDowell - Charlotte Motor Speedway World of Outlaws Late Model Series

Chris Madden and Dale McDowell race for position at Charlotte. (George Missita)

Steve Francis of Ashland, Ky., advanced from the fifth starting spot to finish third, also behind the wheel of a car built by Wright. Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., started 12th but charged forward to place fourth and fourth-starter Dan Schlieper of Sullivan, Wis., completed the top five.

While Lanigan and points leader Richards (by six points) chase the WoO LMS crown in Saturday’s nightcap, Davenport will bid for an unprecedented clean sweep of the full-fender portion of the Lowes Foods World Finals. He set fast time in both rounds of qualifying on Thursday night and won a heat race during Saturday afternoon’s program, which was postponed by rain on Friday night.

Davenport expects the road to victory in the evening show to be a bit more difficult, however.

“Today we just put on the right tires,” said Davenport, who was briefly threatened by McCreadie late in the race before clearing lapped traffic and pulling away to a comfortable edge. “I thought it was a no-brainer (to go with a hard tire). Me and Barry looked at each other and we thought the exact same thing – we didn’t even say what tires we were gonna put on."

“Then we got up to the (starting) grid and nobody had them on, and we started thinking maybe we were wrong. But as soon as we took off, we knew we were right. Hoosier has great tires – this new 70 just fired right up.”

Three caution flags slowed the event, including one on lap nine for Shane Clanton of Fayetteville, Ga., who stopped with a broken rearend. Clanton, who used a provisional to start the A-Main after spinning during his heat, finished 25th and lost fifth place in the WoO LMS points standings to Eckert.

Charlotte Motor Speedway World Finals Race no. 1
1) Jonathan Davenport, 2) Rick Eckert, 3) Steve Francis, 4) Darrell Lanigan, 5) Dan Schlieper, 6) Dennis Erb, Jr., 7) Clint Smith, 8) Jimmy Owens, 9) John Blankenship, 10) Scott Bloomquist, 11) Chris Madden (prov.), 12) Josh Richards, 13) Jared Landers, 14) Vic Coffey, 15) Tim Fuller, 16) Jeep VanWormer, 17) Russell King (prov.), 18) Austin Hubbard, 19) Zack Dohm, 20) Johnny Pursley, 21) Gregg Satterlee, 22) Chris Brown, 23) Tim McCreadie, 24) Steve Shaver, 25) Chub Frank, 26) Shane Clanton (prov.), 27) Dale McDowell, 28) Jeff Rine (prov.).
Fast Time (76 entries): Davenport (15.178); Heat Winners: Davenport, McCreadie, Erb, Eckert, Francis; B-Main Winners: Landers, Satterlee, McDowell.

Thomas Hendrickson photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine