- Nov. 28 - Magnolia Motor Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Rodney Wing - Doug King - Possum Town Grand Prix

Rodney Wing drives under a slower Doug King en route to his second PRO Series win of the weekend in night 2 of the "Possum Town Grand Prix" at Magnolia Motor Speedway. (Connie Putnam)

Wing Pulls Clean Sweep of PRO "Possum Town" Foes at Magnolia Motor Speedway

Ben Shelton

COLUMBUS, Miss. - Nov. 28 – Less than 24 hours after claiming his first career series’ win, Rodney Wing made a repeated performance on Sunday evening by claiming the $3,000 payday in the 10th annual "Possum Town Grand Prix", which was co-sanctioned by the P.R.O. Dirt Car Late Model Series and the NeSmith Super Dirt Car Late Model Series.

Eric Cooley - Kyle Beard - Josh Putnam

Josh Putnam looks for a way under #86 Kyle Beard in pursuit of #33 Eric Cooley, who finished sixth in the P.T.G.P. Putnam finished right behind Cooley in seventh. (Connie Putnam)

A strong field of 38 Late Model teams entered the $3,000 to win event, and Wing earned the Southern Belle Pole Award. He was joined on the front row by Collinsville, Mississippi driver, Steve Bryan. The initial start of the race was nullified as Tony Shelton spun from his 14th starting position to bring out the caution. The ensuing attempt to get the race underway was a success as Wing took control of the top spot with David Breazeale, Bryan, Riley Hickman, and Kyle Beard in pursuit.

Ronnie Johnson - Possum Town Grand Prix

Ronnie Johnson saw a solid fourth place finish go by the wayside with a disappointing disqualification at the scales. (Connie Putnam)

The field would battle two and three wide during the early laps of the feature before the first caution flew on lap seven as Dean Carpenter and Jamie Elam spun down the backstretch. At the time of the caution the top five in the running order were Wing, Breazeale, Bryan, Hickman, and Neil Baggett.

As the race resumed green flag conditions, Breazeale continued to pursue Wing for the lead as Ronnie Johnson found his way past Baggett for the fifth spot.

The event would be slowed again on lap 24 as Baggett slowed down the front stretch, relinquishing his top ten position. When the race resumed green flag conditions Breazeale turned up the wick on Wing for the lead, but as the track began to take heavy rubber, passing would become difficult.

The top ten runners were content to run nose to tail for the balance of the event with Wing taking the win as Breazeale, Bryan, Mathew Turner, and Hickmanfollowed. Johnson initially finished fourth at the checkered flag, but was found light at the scales after the race and was scored last.

Brian Rickman claimed the American Race Tires Hard Charger Award after advancing from the 24th starting position to a 12th place finish.

Breazeale claimed the PRO Dirt Car Series and NeSmith Super Dirt Car Series Championship with his weekend performances. With only the top ten finishes for each driver counting toward their final point’s total, the final points’ standings are currently being tabulated and will be released this week.

Nov. 28 - Possum Town Grand Prix - Magnolia Motor Speedway
1) Rodney Wing,
 2) David Breazeale, 3) Steve Bryan, 4) Mathew Turner, 5) Riley Hickman, 6) Eric Cooley, 7) Josh Putnam, 8) Wade Byars, 9) Johnny Stokes, 10) Brian Rickman, 11) Kyle Beard, 12) Rick Rickman, 13) Tony Shelton, 14) Bradley Price, 15) Morgan Bagley, 16) Doug King, 17) Ross Camponovo, 18) Jamie Tollison, 19) Neil Baggett, 20) Carnell Parker, 21) Dean Carpenter, 22) Mark Dodson, 23) Jamie Elam, 24) Ronnie Johnson (disqualified - weight)


Updated 11/30/10

A-Team Gold sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

 LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Company logos

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine

Your ad here