- Nov. 13 - Pike County Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Wing Sets Sail For "Jambalaya 100" Win at Pike County

MCCOMB (Magnolia), Miss. - Nov. 13. Exchanging his promoter's cap for a racing helmet Friday and Saturday, Meridian, Mississippi's Rodney Wing led all 75 laps to capture the $5,000 win in Saturday's Southern United Professional Racing (SUPR) Series sanctioned "Jambalaya 100" final at Pike County Speedway.

The former series champion led all 75 laps of the main event that was shortened by 25 circuits ue to the threat of inclement weather.

The field got a lap completed before the first caution came with provisional starter Skip O'Neal's trip onto the backstretch retaining wall.  

With racing back under way, Louisiana racers Robbie Stuart and Chris Wall chased Wing - Wall while sporting a cast on his arm as a result of a recent fall. Wall continued to pressure Stuart until taking second by lap 20. Wing enjoyed a near straightaway lead over Wall, while a three-way battle for third began to take shape between Stuart, Timothy Culp, and Kenny Merchant.

With a lap 39 caution for David Ashley's ailing #14, a fuel stop was called, and after fueling, Wing and Wall brought the field back to speed, with the lapped cars of Dwight Falcon and Gary Christian separating the pair from third running Stuart. Wing and Wall continued to occupy the top two spots to the finish, while third finishing Stuart was able to hold off Merchant, who had overtaken Culp in traffic to grab fourth.

With Culp taking fifth, Alexandria, La. veteran Rob Litton won his B-Main and was able to nail down the SUPR Series championship after making his way from deep in the field to sixth at the finish. 

"Jambalaya 100" - Pike County Speedway
1) Rodney Wing, 2) Chris Wall, 3) Robbie Stuart, 4) Kenny Merchant, 5) Timmy Culp, 6) Rob Litton, 7) Allen Tippen, 8) Jeff Chanler, 9) B.J. Robinson, 10) Donald Watson, 11) Gary Christian, 12) Josh Danzy, 13) Anthony Burroughs, 14) Mickey Trosclair, 15) Kyle Cummings, 16) Scott Creel, 17) David Ashley, 18) Dwight Falcon, 19) Doug Begnaud, 20) Marlon Wild, 21) Kevin Watts, 22) Alex Ashley (prov.), 23) Skip O'Neal (prov.), 24) Morgan Bagley.

Fast Time (32 entries): Wing (16.889); Heat winners: Wing, Stuart, Culp, Cummings; B-Main winners: Bagley, Litton.

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine