- May 6 - Humboldt Speedway (NCRA) by Sam Holbrooks


Brandon McCormick VL Humboldt Speedway

Brandon McCormick stands in MARS Victory Lane for the first time in his career at Humboldt Speedway. (Andrew Towne)

MARS/NCRA: McCormick Doubles Up With First Win on Two Tours at Humboldt

David Smith Jr. and Brian Garrison

Humboldt, Kan. – May 6. Brandon McCormick of Lebanon, Mo. withstood several late race challenges and then held on to defy the masses as he picked up his first career late model series feature win of any kind as he won the 40-lap National Championship Racing Association (NCRA) and MARS DIRTcar late model feature finale Saturday in both series’ inaugural visit to “The Hummer,” Humboldt Speedway in Humboldt, Kansas. 

Brandon McCormick - Humboldt Speedway MLRA

Brandon McCormick races Terry Phillips before grabbing his first career MLRA win at Humboldt (Kan.) Speedway on Friday. (Ron Mitchell) 

McCormick, A regular with the MARS Series for more than 10 years, took the lead on lap 20 of the 40 lap feature event and held off challenges from six-time and defending MARS Champion Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo.

Current MARS DIRTcar point’s leader Brad Looney of Republic, Missouri led the first half of the event but would relinquish the lead with a flat tire. He would restart and rebound for a tenth place finish. Jeremy Payne of Springfield, Mo. started on the pole, but ended 14th after a flat tire on lap four also knocked him from contention.

Jeremy Payne - Brad Looney - Humboldt Speedway NCRA MLRA

Polesitter Jeremy Payne and #14 Brad Looney, the early race leader, race for position before each driver suffered a flat tire and fell from winning contention. (Andrew Towne) 

McCormick, driving the #42 Darryl Capps owned/GRT race car, took over the point on lap 20 and held off repeated challenges from six-time MARS DIRTcar champion Terry Phillips of Springfield, Missouri to claim the $3000 victory. 

Tony Jackson, Jr. finished third while Eric Turner finished fourth in McCormick's back up car. Local track favorite Randy Zimmerman rounded out the top five.

Terry Phillips - Tony Jackson Jr - Humboldt Speedway

Terry Phillips and #56 Tony Jackson, Jr. race for position before finishing second and third at the finish. (Andrew Towne)

May 6 - MARS/NCRA - Humboldt Speedway
1) Brandon McCormick, 2) Terry Phillips, 3) Tony Jackson, Jr., 4) Eric Turner, 5) Randy Zimmerman, 6) Al Purkey, 7) Jesse Stovall, 8) Shane Essary, 9) David Turner, 10) Brad Looney, 11) Mike Collins, 12) Corey Zeitner, 13) Dean Moore, 14) Jeremy Payne, 15) Larry Jones, 16) Joe Kosiski, 17) Steve Kempt, 18) Leroy Johnson, 19) Shawn Harker, 20) Tommy Weder, Jr., 21) R.C. Whitwell, 22) John Anderson
Heat winners (35 entries): Whitwell, Jackson, Looney, Payne, Zimmerman; B-Main winners: Purkey, Turner.

Andrew Towne photo



Wehrs Machine


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Bill Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 09-25-11

Weekend Warriors

Calumet County Fairgrounds "Chilton Fall Invitational" - Russ Scheffler

Russ Scheffler at Calumet Co. Fairgrounds

Billed as "the largest race at the smallest track in Wisconsin", the Calumet Co. "Fall Invitational" played out on Sept. 23-24,  and Russ Scheffler drove his #74 to the win in the event. (Michael Esser)

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box