- May 31 - Boone Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Ray Guus Jr @ Boone Speedway 

Ray Guss, Jr. drives a low line toward another IMCA Deery Bros. win at Boone Speedway. (Chris Damitz)


Ray Guss, Jr. with his hardware at Boone Speedway after his 18th career Deery Bros. Late Model win.

(Chris Damitz)
Guss repeats Deery Series heroics at Boone  
Bill Martin
BOONE, Iowa – May 31. Another holiday event at Boone Speedway resulted in another Deery Brothers Summer Series feature victory for Ray Guss, Jr. 
Guss cruised to the $2,000 checkers at Boone on Memorial Day while adding to his lead in the IMCA Late Model tour point standings. Terry Neal, the driver Guss passed to win the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals Labor Day event last fall, was rewarded for his Herculean effort just to get a car ready to race with a second place finish. 
Boone McLaughlin races toward sixth place at Boone Speedway in IMCA Deery Bros. action. (Chris Damitz)
Joel Callahan, Mark Burgtorf and Matt Strassheim rounded out the top five. The 40-lap contest was interrupted by caution just once, on the second circuit. 
After a mishap in weekly action, Neal and his crew had spent the day getting a backup car ready for its first action since the series show on the asphalt at Hawkeye Downs in August of 2009. 
Neal started outside front row and led the first 16 laps. Guss had taken the green from outside row two and was on Neal’s back bumper for most of the early going before slipping inside for the lead. 
The front pair caught up to the back of the field shortly after midway and changed lines adroitly to work their way through. Mark Burgtorf raced his way up to second before Neal and Callahan passed him back with two laps left.


A mad scramble at Boone Speedway.

(Chris Damitz)

The Monday night win was the career 18th for Guss, tying him with Neal and Rob Toland for fifth on the all-time tour victory list. 
Provisional starter Kevin Blum made the most progress toward the front, advancing 10 places after starting 24th. 
Callahan was the winner of the $250 Sunoco bonus. 
IMCA Deery Bros. - Boone Speedway May 31st
1. Ray Guss Jr., 2. Terry Neal, 3. Joel Callahan, 4. Mark Burgtorf, 5. Matt Strassheim, 6. Boone McLaughlin, 7. Jeremiah Hurst, 8. Andy Eckrich, 9. Kyle Wahlert, 10. Jeff Aikey, 11. Jay Johnson, 12. Tom Darbyshire, 13. Tom Goble, 14. Kevin Blum, 15. Mark Preston, 16. Josh Most, 17. T.J. Criss, 18. Jason Rauen, 19. Tyler Bruening, 20. Craig Roberts,21. Darrel DeFrance, 22. Todd Malmstrom, 23. Robby Warner, 24. Brian Klein.

Chris Damitz photo


LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine