- May 30 - Monett Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Phillips Leads Springfield Trio to MARS Win at Monett

MONETT, Mo. - May 30. Five time and defending MARS DIRTcar Series champion Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo. led all 35 laps from his outside pole starting position to claim his second win of the season and his 69th MARS DIRTcar Series win overall at Monett Speedway's 10th annual "Tony Roper Memorial". Phillips claimed the top prize of $3,000 for his efforts.

Terry Phillips enjoyed a solid weekend of racing with a 3rd place in the Show-Me 100 and a MARS win at Monett, Mo.

(Ron Mitchell)

Current MARS point leader and Phillips' fellow Springfield resident Eric Turner started 12th in the feature and wasted no time in making his way to the front. By lap 20, Turner had raced his way into the top five, and by lap 27 he was second. However Phillips's lead proved too great to overcome and Turner would settle for second place.

Bill Frye ran as high as 6th before suffering a flat tire and getting hit by Shane Essary. Tony Jackson, Jr. drove the ailing Brandon McCormick's #42 to fifth place.

(Ron Mitchell)

Jeremy Payne, also of Springfield, Mo. started fifth on the grid and ran in the top five for most of the race. Payne was able to get by Dewaine Hottinger of Russellville, Ark. for third on lap 14 and overtook Jack Sullivan of Greenbriar, Ark. on lap 26 for second place, only to give up second to Turner on lap 27. Payne would finish third.

Sullivan started third and raced in the top three for most of the feature before settling for fourth in the final rundown.

Eric Turner put in an impressive run from 12th to second, while #58 Gary Christian picked up seventh place.
(Ron Mitchell)
Tony Jackson Jr., of Lebanon, Mo. finished fifth, piloting long-time MARS DIRTcar Series driver Brandon McCormick's #42.

Five time MARS DIRTcar Series champion Bill Frye of Greenbriar, Ark. was racing in sixth when he would slow in turns three and four for what appeared to be a flat tire. Shane Essary was unable to slow down in time and clipped the rear of Frye's car. The wreck would end the night for both drivers.

MARS - Monett Speedway - May 30
(1) Terry Phillips, (2) Eric Turner, (3) Jeremy Payne, (4) Jack Sullivan, (5) Tony Jackson Jr., (6) Dewaine Hottinger, (7) Gary Christian, (8) Ken Essary, (9) Dustin Mooneyham, (10) Burl Woods, (11) Darrell Mooneyham, (12) Chris Morelock, (13) Don Cloyd, (14) John Driskill, (15) Justin Wells, (16) Ron Johnson, (17) Leroy Johnson, (18) Bill Frye, (19) Shane Essary, (20) Larry Jones, (21) Rylan Long, (22) Mason Oberkramer, (23) Daniel Jessen

Heat Winners: Jack Sullivan, Gary Christian, Dewaine Hottinger

Ron Mitchell photo 

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine