- May 30 - Lone Star Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Litton Going Away For Lone Star SUPR Win

By Bryan Wimberley, courtesy

KILGORE, Texas (May 30) — Polesitter Rob Litton of Alexandria, La., led all 40 laps Sunday at Lone Star Speedway for a $2,500 victory on the Southern United Professional Racing tour. Litton took the checkers 3.5 seconds ahead of home-state driver Chris Holley for his 20th career SUPR victory.

Holley, who started on the front row, finished second in a race with several drivers dropping out, allowing surviving competitors who started deep in the field to record good finishes. Kevin Sitton of Baytown, Texas, advanced four

Josh Danzy took full advantage of a provisional start to advance to fifth place at Lone Star.

(Scott Burson)

positions to finish third while Allen Tippen of Minden, La., made a 12th-to-fourth run. Rookie Josh Danzy of Heflin, La., charged from his 21st starting spot to round out the top five and secure hard charger honors.

Litton took command at the outset while Ronny Adams, the weekend-opening winner in Sterlington, La., exited with a smoking car. Ricky Ingalls stayed with Litton early as the top two edged away from the field over the first 10 laps.

After a lap-13 for Donald Watson's engine woes, action heated up mid-pack among Tippen, Tom Lorenz and Kyle Cummings while Litton stayed out front.

Allen Tippin completed the weekend with some solid finishes that included 4th at Lone Star. Scott Burson

The frontrunners entered lapped traffic on lap 24 and Litton built his lead to four seconds over Ingalls before a lap-33 caution for Cummings in turn four. A five-car scramble on the restart in turn halted action again as Jeff Chanler spun to the inside of turn four, collecting Ray Moore, Robbie Stuart, David Ashley and Lorenz.

Holley took second from Ingalls on the restart, and Ingalls was black-flagged for the way he answered the move. Litton was on cruise control up front and wrapped up the victory that put him in the SUPR points lead.

RACE NOTES: Litton's Rocket Chassis is powered by Wall 2 Wall Performance Engines and is sponsored by LMS Truck Center, AFCO, Shy Racing Equipment, Litton Motor Sports, Stuckey Enterprises, Larry Grayson & Son Trucking and TWM Racing Products. ... Litton leads the series points over Kyle Cummings, who finished 16th. ... Litton's 20 career victories tie him for sixth all time with Howard Willis. ... Litton's other SUPR win at Lone Star Speedway came in 2004. ... The 32-minute feature had four cautions and ended at 10:58 p.m. ... Eight cars finished on the lead lap with just 9 of 22 starters running at the finish. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Trey Beene, Wesley Chandler, Patrick Daniel, Jason Ingalls, Doug Ivey, Wayman McMillan, Clay McWilliams, Robbie Starnes and Bryan Sugg. ... Next up for SUPR competitors is a June 12 stop at Devil's Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, Texas.

SUPR - Lone Star Speedway - May 31st

(1) Rob Litton, (2) Chris Holley, (3) Kevin Sitton, (4) Allen Tippen, (5) Josh Danzy (prov.), (6) Doug Begnaud, (7) Jon Mitchell, (8) Robbie Stuart, (9) Paul Joyner, (10) Ricky Ingalls, (11) Jeff Chanler, (12) Alex Ashley, (13) Ray Moore, (14) Tom Lorenz, (15) David Ashley, (16) Kyle Cummings, (17) Darin Patrick, (18) Donald Watson, (19) Skip O'Neal (prov.), (20) Chris Brown, (21) Jason Trevathan, (22) Ronny Adams.

Heat race winners (among 31 cars): Holley, R. Ingalls, Litton, A. Ashley. Consolation winners: Begnaud, Cummings.

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine