- May 29 - Thunderhill Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Dark Horse McElhiney Turns Back SRRS Regs For First Series Win

Janet Sandrell

SUMMERTOWN, Tenn. - May 29. "Is it true"?

That’s what Ray McElhiney wanted to know when asked what he thought about taking the PPM Race Products Southern Regional Racing Series (SRRS) checkered flag at Thunderhill Raceway Saturday night.

McElhiney, of nearby Pulaski, Tenn., set quick time out of the 28 entries and earned the pole starting position for the 30-lap, $2,000 to win feature race, then led every lap of the race.

Ray McElhiney raced to his first career SRRS win at Thunderhill Speedway.

(Connie Putnam)

McElhiney and Tony Morris brought the field to green, followed by Eric Hickerson, Josh Putnam, Jay Brinkley, and Anthony Burroughs. McElhiney took the lead on the first lap and led flag to flag. The track locked down early and very little passing was done, as Morris followed McElhiney in second, followed by Eric Hickerson, Josh Putnam, Jay Brinkley, Anthony Burroughs, David Gentry, and Ben Kittrell, eighth

McElhiney earned the Star Grafix Fast Time Award of a $100 Certificate toward a wrap, Shy Suspension and Base Racing Fuels Feature Winner Awards.

The top nine drivers along with McElhiney that locked into the feature through qualifying were Morris, Putnam,Hickerson, Brinkley, Burroughs, Seth Daniel, Kittrell and local driver Donald Johns. The rest of the 24 car field was made up from three B-mains, won by Jerry Jackson, Jacob Grizzle, and Mark Fields. Series Provisionals went to Jimmy Tucker and Steven Ashby.

Starting each of the feature events of the Memorial Day weekend, the Southern Regional Racing Series and drivers honored our veterans and those currently serving our country, with each driver waving an American Flag during the four-wide salute.

SRRS - Thunderhill Speedway - May 29
(1) Ray McElhiney, (2) Tony Morris, (3) Eric Hickerson, (4) Josh Putnam, (5) Jay Brinkley, (6) Anthony Burroughs, (7) David Gentry, (8) Ben Kittrell, (9) Jerry Jackson, (10) Seth Daniel, (11) Mark Fields, (12) Jacob France, (13) Shane Echols, (14) Anthony Seibers, (15) Jacob Grizzle, (16) William Burns, (17) Tommy Taylor, (18) Steven Ashby (prov.), (19) Tony Simmons, (20) John Minon, (21) Donald Johns, (22) Markus McCrary, (23) Charles Zimmerman, (24) Jimmy Tucker (prov.).

Top qualifier (28 entries): McElhiney; Consolation winners: Fields, France, Jackson.


Connie Putnam


Updated 11/02/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine