- May 29 - Oakshade Raceway by Sam Holbrooks


Schlenk Keeps ALMS Honors at Home With Oakshade Win

WAUSEON, Oh. - May 29. Rusty Schlenk battled his way around early leaders Jon Henry and Matt Miller to collect the win in Friday's American Late Model Series (ALMS) event at Oakshade Raceway and added to his expanding local points lead.

While pole sitter Henry, winner of the ALMS title in his first year of racing in 2009, held down the early lead, Schlenk dueled with Ohio traveller Matt Miller, who finally prevailed, then drove around Henry for the lead on lap eight. A few laps later, Schlenk drove past Henry and went after the new leader, Miller. Schlenk was side by side with the Ohio traveller midway through the race, and as the lapped car of Kevin Reeve loomed ahead, Miller and Schlenk moved high and low. Things got too tight for a moment, and Reeve spun to produce the first caution of the race.

The resumed, and finally Schlenk found a way around Miller's #7 to race to his first ALMS win this season at Oakshade. Behind Miller, Henry held onto third, leading ALMS point leader Jeep Van Wormer, and Brian Ruhlman.


Jim Denhamer photo 

ALMS - Oakshade Raceway - May 29
1) Rusty Schlenk, 2) Matt Miller, 3) Jon Henry, 4) Jeep Van Wormer, 5) Brian Ruhlman, 6) Devin Shields, 7) Rick Delong, 8) Chris Keller, 9) Curtis Roberts, 10) Dusty Moore, 11) Tom Ordway, 12) Phil Ausra, 13) Kevin Reeve, 14) Tim Sabo, 15) Andrew Reaume, 16) Casey Noonan, 17) Ron Miller, 18) Cruz Pedregon, 19) Jerry Bowersock, 20) Brad Eitniear, 21) Hillard Miller, 22) Ryan Vanderveen. (41 entries)

Heat winners: Schlenk, Henry, Miller, Delong. Semi-feature winners: Noonan, Ordway

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine