- May 25 - Cedar County Raceway by Sam Holbrooks


Mount Vernon, Ia.'s Chad Simpson races toward his third straight win on the Cornbelt Clash tour at Cedar County Raceway.  (Mike Ruefer)

Denny Eckrich - Jason Rauen

Denny Eckrich put in his best showing of the season with fourth place at Cedar County.  Jason Rauen (#98) claimed tenth place. (Mike Ruefer)

Simpson Goes Three For Three on Cornbelt Clash Tour at Cedar County

Thanks to Larry Bontz

TIPTON, Iowa - May 25. It might be safe to say that, at least for now, Chad Simpson has built somewhat of a monopoly on the Cornbelt Clash tour, having now swept all three of the regional tour's first events of the season. In a special Tuesday night appearance of the series at Cedar County Speedway, the Mount Vernon, Ia. racer started from the pole and never looked back en route to another series win.

Brian Harris - May 25

After starting 16th, recent Midwest Monster Tour winner Brian Harris elevates his #21 to a fifth place at Cedar County. (Mike Ruefer)

Terry Neal - May 25

Exercising his topless option with the Clash, Terry Neal nudges ahead of leader Chad Simpson, but never led an official lap before finishing third. (Mike Ruefer)

Simpson's win comes as the latest in an impressive set of performances that include four non-Cornbelt Clash races that have yet to see a single finish worse than seventh place. 

Simpson who finished third in his qualifying heat drew the outside of the front
 row starting spot for the 35-lapper. The 2009 Corn Belt Champion set sail early on, and at the midway point, moved through lap traffic flawlessly, 

Aikey - Marolf - May 25

A recent winner and a regular on the Deery Bros. series, Jeff Aikey put in a ninth place performance. Nick Marolf (#33m) claimed a heat race win, but was out of the hunt early in the feature. (Mike Ruefer)

picking off lapped cars one by one.

Lap 21 saw Dave Eckrich move into second after battling with Terry Neal for that spot for several laps. But up front, Simpson continued his masterful work, motoring on for the win his third in the series for the year. Eckrich, Neal, and Denny Eckrich followed, with Brian Harris making the biggest jump coming from 16th to fifth in the final tally.

Dave Eckrich - May 25

Dave Eckrich posted his best special event finish of the second as runner up to Simpson. (Mike Ruefer)

Simpson VL - May 25

Chad Simpson and support system at Cedar County. (Mike Ruefer)

Finish - Cedar Co Cornbelt Clash - May 25

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine