- May 22 - Thunderhill Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Chad Simpson - Terry Phillips - May 22

Iowa's Chad Simpson followed up third place Friday night finish with an even more impressive second to Bily Moyer on Saturday in Kansas.  MLRA champ Terry Phillips (#75) would have to settle for third at Thunderhill. (Lloyd Collins)

Moyer Completes Twin Win Weekend at Thunderhill MLRA Debut

Thunderhill Speedway PR

MAYETTA, Kan. - May 22. Billy Moyer, of Batesville, Ark., who had scored an MLRA win at Sedalia, Mo. on Friday, was able to complete the weekend sweep at Thunder Hill Speedway on Saturday – but it was far from an easy score.

The warmest night of the summer so far treated fans to the hottest racing of the summer, as the late models of the Lucas Oil MLRA Series made their first visit to the high banks here in over three years. Pre-race buzz surrounded

Anderson - Looney - Wiarda

Couldn't get much more three-wider than #2 John Anderson, #14 Brad Looney, and #1 Mike Wiarda did at Thunder Hill. Anderson pickd up fourth at the finish, with Looney sixth and Wiarda tenth. (Lloyd Collins)

Moyer - Dave Eckrich - May 22

Billy Moyer moves under #58 Dave Eckrich on his way to the front at Thunder Hill. (Lloyd Collins)

Late Model legend Moyer bringing his famed #21 to "the Hill" for the first time in the track’s 16-year history. 

Thirty-four MLRA Late Models checked into the Thunder Hill pits, including several past winners at Thunder Hill. When the lineup was set, Chad Simpson, of Mt. Vernon, Iowa, started on the pole. Simpson used it to great advantage, as he streaked into an early lead, pursued closely by Terry Phillips, Dave Eckrich, Al Purkey, and several others running in a pack. Meanwhile, eighth-starting Moyer began picking cars off one by one.

Spieker - Payne - Smyser

Close quarter racing in Kansas between #56 Chris Spieker, #25 Chris Smyser, and #74 Jeremy Payne, who raced to his second ninth place finish of the weekend. (Lloyd Collins)

Moyer VL - Thunder Hill

Billy Moyer after win #2 on the MLRA tour for the weekend. (Lloyd Collins)

For awhile, it looked as if Simpson was simply going to lead from wire to wire. As the leaders moved through lapped traffic, Phillips could get no closer than four car lengths from Simpson’s bumper. Moyer, in third, was following in Phillips’ tire tracks, but didn’t appear to have the speed to advance further.

A late-race sequence of yellows, however, changed the complexion of the race. On the first restart, Moyer quickly dispatched Phillips and in another couple of laps made a high-side pass on Simpson. Two more late yellows allowed Simpson shots at regaining his lead, but he could get no farther than the door of the Batesville veteran’s machine. At the finish, it was Moyer, followed by Simpson, Phillips, John Anderson, and Dave Eckrich in the top five.

Billy Moyer - Thunderhill MLRA

Navigating Thunderhill Speedway at Mayetta, Kansas, Billy Moyer bones up for his second MLRA win of the weekend and seventh of the season overall. (Lloyd Collins)

FINISH: (1) Billy Moyer, (2) Chad Simpson, (3) Terry Phillips, (4) John Anderson, (5) Dave Eckrich, (6) Brad Looney, (7) Al Purkey, (8) Joe Kosiski, (9) Jeremy Payne, (10) Mike Wiarda, (11) David Turner, (12) Chris Smyser, (13) Shad Badder, (14) J.D. Hubert, (15) Shawn Harker, (16) Zack Simmons, (17) Evan Hubert, (18) Chris Spieker, (19) Andrew Kosiski, (20) Bill Koons, (21) Al Humphrey, (22) Justin Asplin

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine