- May 22 - LaSalle Speedway Part 2 by Sam Holbrooks

<< Previous    1  [2]    Next >>
distance of the leaders. 

 A caution for debris on lap 36 slowed the field once more. Bloomquist had to fight off challenges from both Owens and Pearson. On the restart Owens and Pearson crowded Bloomquist on his deck lid as the duo made the Team Zero captain work hard for the lead.  

Owens tried lap after lap to sneak to the inside of Bloomquist coming off of turn four. He pulled even with Bloomquist coming down the main straightaway multiple times, but Owens could not clear Bloomquist to take over the lead.  With six laps to go, the final yellow came out for Steve Casebolt.  

Bloomquist re-fired for the final restart of the race and pulled away from Owens. Bloomquist went on unchallenged the remainder of the race to pick up his fourth Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season. The duo of Bloomquist and Owens are now tied for the Lucas Oil Championship Points Standings with 1565 points, and Pearson closely behind in third.  

Chris Wall - Jason Hughes - May 22

Chris Wall rolls under #12 Jason Hughes at mid-pack, where he finished. Hughes was among the first out of the hunt.   (Mike Ruefer)

In Victory Lane, Bloomquist mentioned that the last restart was to his benefit and felt that it killed Owens’ chance for the win.  “The car fired real well out of the corner, we had a push across the corner on the other side, I saw his nose a couple of times before the caution, but under the caution we slowed down enough to keep the tires warm, because I knew he (Owens) went with a little harder on the left rear, I have to thank Tommy Hicks, my crew chief and the entire crew, they did a great job getting this car ready, we’ve run the Jay Dickens and the Vic Hill, both are great engines.”  

The 46-year-old Bloomquist drives his own Bloomquist Race Cars Monte Carlo SS powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsored by Miller Brothers Construction/Hawkeye Trucking/Sweet Mfg/VP Racing Fuels/Hoosier Tires/Arizona Sport Shirts/Ohlins and Lane Automotive. 

Pearson finished second, passing Owens on the last lap, in the Bobby Labonte Racing/Lucas Oil Products/MasterSbilt Dodge Charger to maintain third in the points standings.  Owens, who fell into a tie with Bloomquist for the points lead after entering the event leading by 30, was third.

Completing the top five were Miller, who charged from 18th to earn the PBM/Erson Cams Hard Charger of the Race was fourth in the McCullough Industries/Gressman Racing Engine/MasterSbilt; with Drown scoring his best ever Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series finish in fifth.

LaSalle wreck 2

Track officials dig Jeep Van Wormer out from his race car after he flipped in a heat race at LaSalle. The Michigan driver was not injured.   (Mike Ruefer)

LaSalle Finish - May 22

<< Previous    1  [2]    Next >>

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine