- May 21 - Senoia Raceway by Sam Holbrooks


Dan Breuer - Steve Cooke - Senoia Raceway NeSmith Racing Series

Race winner Dan Breuer (left) with teammate Steve Cooke and the AES Racing crew after a big night at New Senoia Raceway. (Mark Bochiardy)

NeSmith Racing Series: Breuer Leads Team Cooke to One-Two Finish at Senoia

Roby Helm

SENOIA, Ga. – May 21. NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series point leader Dan Breuer of Troutman, N.C. took his second win of the season on Saturday in the "Spring Nationals 50" at New Senoia Raceway driving the AES Racing Special.  Breuer started third and passed his teammate Steve Cooke for the lead on lap three and never looked back.   

Dan Breuer at New Senoia Raceway NeSmith Racing Series

Dan Breuer at speed at New Senoia. (Mark Bochiardy)

Cooke finished second to give the AES Racing Team a one-two finish.  Cooke was also the fast qualifier for the race to earn the pole position for the main event. The Mt. Airy, N.C. driver led the early laps of the event.


After leaving his high school graduation ceremony to compete at Penton, Ala. on Friday night and finishing second, Chase Edge continued a strong weekend of competition with third place on Satuday at New Senoia. (Mark Bochiardy)
 “Steve’s car was just a little bit tighter than my car, and he pushed up just enough in turn four to give me an opening on the bottom of the track to take the lead,” Breuer said.  “This one-two finish really says a lot about the AES Racing Team.  We had a great race on a great track in front of some great fans.” 

"Rookie of the Year" point leader Chase Edge of Lafayette, Ala. finished third ahead of David Earl Gentry of Murfreesboro, Tenn. and Jake Teague of Oliver Springs, Tenn.   

After Cooke led away from the pole, Breuer drove underneath Edge in turns one and two to grab the second spot.  On lap three, Cooke’s car pushed up the banking and opened the door on the inside for Breuer, who took the opportunity to grab the lead.  Breuer had opened up a two car-length advantage over Cook before the first of eight caution flags came on lap four when Tim Bright, Jr. spun. Bright spun again on the restart and was ticketed under the two-spin rule, done for the night.

David Gentry at New Senoia Raceway NeSmith Racing Series

Popular Tennessee veteran David Earl Gentry gives his carburetion an adjustment prior to advancing to a fourth place finish at new Senoia. (Mark Bochiardy)

With another caution on lap nine for Tootie Arnold, Breuer finally began to encounter the cars on the tail end of the lead lap on the 19th tour, but was able to maintain a four car-length lead over Cooke before Arnold lit the yellow bulb for a second time on lap 25 when a steering failure sent him into the turn two wall.  Arnold was uninjured in the crash, but it ended his race. 

When the field went back to green, Edge and Doug Stephens battled for the third spot.  On lap 31, Stephens got the inside line on Edge coming off the fourth turn to take the third position, and with a lap 39 caution, Gentry sat in fifth for the restart. 


Tony Kemp's mount under VERY close scrutiny at New Senoia. (Mark Bochiardy)
Stephens was battling with Cooke for the second spot on lap 43 when he suddenly slowed to a stop with a mechanical failure in turn three to bring out the sixth caution flag and earn Stephens the Dominator Race Products Hard Luck Award.  

After the restart, the field stayed green for one lap before Shannon Lee of Lumberton, Miss. cut down a tire.  Lee changed the tire and got back out for the restart, only to be part of a lap 47 multi-car tangle on the backstretch. Lee got tangled up with Mark Tice and Frank Wilson. Oliver Gentry had to give up the ninth spot under the yellow and went to the pits to change a flat tire. 

After the restart and the four-lap dash to the finish, Breuer took the checkered flag with a .846 second margin of victory over Cooke. 

Breuer now has 642 points to hold a 26-point margin over David Earl Gentry in the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series point standings.  

May 21 - NeSmith Racing Series - Senoia Raceway
1) Dan Breuer, 2) Steve Cooke, 3) Chase Edge, 4) David Earl Gentry, 5) Jake Teague, 6) Albert Cosnahan, 7) Mark Rosner, 8) Doug Ludwig, 9) Jason Williams, 10) Troy Tyson, 11) Matthew Turner, 12) Shannon Lee, 13) Oliver Gentry, 14) Mark Tice, 15) Frank Wilson, 16) Tod Darda, 17) Doug Stephens, 18) Roger Cassell, 19) Tony Kemp, 20) Tootie Arnold, 21) Tim Bright, Jr.
Fast Time (21 entries): Cooke (14.706); Heat winners: Gentry, Ludwig

Mark Bochiardy photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box