- May 14 - Wythe Raceway Part 2 by Sam Holbrooks

<< Previous    1  [2]    Next >>
were battling for the third position. McCool slowed on lap seven and dropped out the race, giving up his top five spot. Will Vaught, who started eight then moved into a top five position and began challenging the third place running Davenport.

Compton - Cook - McDowell

Kenny Compton, #53 Ray Cook, and #17 Dale McDowell scramble for position during their heat race at Wythe Raceway. (Michael Moats) 
Up front the battle for the lead was heating up as Pearson and Owens went toe to toe for six laps until Owens finally cleared Pearson for the lead on lap ten. The first caution of the race came out with ten complete for a slowing Dennis Franklin. On the restart, Owens was out in front for the double-file restart with Pearson and Vaught; who had climbed to third in the race; lined up side-by-side heading to the green flag.
Owens quickly pulled out to a two-car length lead as Vaught made a move on Pearson taking the second spot on lap 12. Pearson fought back, regaining the position from Vaught two laps later as the torrid battle continued for the spot, but on lap 16 Vaught snatched second away from Pearson again.

McDowell - Pearson

McDowell offers a late challenge to Earl Pearson, Jr.'s second position at Wythe.  McDowell would have to settle for third. (Michael Moats) 

Meanwhile Owens was on cruise control as he stretched his lead out over Vaught and Pearson as Dale McDowell and Steve Casebolt maintained the fourth and fifth positions. The top five remained the same until lap 27 when Vaught broke a rear-end, ending his night..
Owens encountered traffic with eight laps to go, but cleared it easily and went on unchallenged the rest of the way to score his record-tying third straight series victory, the 16th of his career.
In the Sunoco Race Fuels Road to Wheatland Victory Lane, Owens was beaming ear-to-ear in the Mike Reece owned Bloomquist Race Cars Ford Fusion; powered by a Cornett Racing Engine. “Man I have to thank the crew again, they did a great job as usual, and everything’s clicking right now, they made us earn it tonight, we started fifth but the car took off real well and we got off to a good start, it didn’t take long to get up there and Earl and I had a great race going, we gave each other plenty of room and I was fortunate enough to get by him,” said Owens who scored his second ever win at the Fred Brown promoted facility and his first there since 2007.
 Dennis Erb - Vic Hill - May 15

America's busiest driver to date, Dennis Erb, prepares to take practice laps at Wythe Raceway. (Rick Schwallie)

With the win, Owens took over first place in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship Points Standings for the first time in his career. He now leads defending series champion, Scott Bloomquist by 30 points. “We are just worried about the wins right now, we are really on a hot streak and if we keep winning, the points will come along,” said the 38-year-old driver. 
Owens - Wythe - May 14

Jimmy Owens at Wythe Raceway after his fourth win in his last five outings. (Michael Moats) 
The Red Buck Cigars Fast Time award went to Chris Wall (16.823 secs.), while heat wins went to McCool, Franklin, Pearson, and Davenport.  B-Main winners were Schlieper and Jeff Smith.

Finish - Wythe Raceway - May 15

<< Previous    1  [2]    Next >>

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine