- May 14 - Springfield Raceway by Sam Holbrooks


Al Purkey - Springfield Raceway MLRA/MARS winner

Al Purkey emerges from his mount after winning Saturday's combined MLRA/MARS event at Springfield (Mo.) Raceway. (Ron Mitchell)


MLRA/MARS: Purkey Unchallenged For Back to Back Wins


Brian Garrison


SPRINGFIELD, Mo. - May 14. Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan. picked up his second victory of the year with the MARS DIRTcar Series at Springfield Raceway.  Purkey led all 40 laps of the $3,000 to win feature that was co-sanctioned with the MLRA. Purkey  withstood challenges from six-time and defending MARS champion Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., who finished second. 


Alan Vaughn - Billy Moyer - John Anderson

Billy Moyer pulls up between #22 Alan Vaughn and #2 John Anderson as he rumbles from his 16th place start to finish third at Springfield. (Ron Mitchell) 


Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark. started 16th and was the race's hard charger as he worked his way up to third place.  Jack Sullivan of Greenbrier, Ark. and Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo. completed the top five.  Prior to the race, MARS 


Jesse Stovall - Terry Phillips - Springfield Raceway MLRA/MARS

Jesse Stovall slipped his #00 into second briefly after a late restart, but #75 Terry Phillips soon regained the spot, where he finished. Stovall gave up his third spot to Billyy Moyer by race's end. (Ron Mitchell)


point leader Brad Looney of Republic, Mo. held just a slim two point lead over Phillips.  Looney would finish sixth in the final rundown and slip to second in points, just five points behind Phillips.  


Al Purkey VL Springfield

Al Purkey at Springfield Raceway. (Lloyd Collins)  


Jack Sullivan - Billy Moyer - Brad Looney

Jack Sullivan races with #21 Billy Moyer and #14 Brad Looney before taking his #1 GRT to fourth place. (Ron Mitchell)


MLRA/MARS - Springfield Raceway
1. Al Purkey, 2. Terry Phillips, 3. Billy Moyer, 4. Jack Sullivan, 5. Jesse Stovall, 6. Brad Looney, 7. John Anderson, 8. Jeremy Payne, 9. Alan Vaughn, 10. Tony Jackson, Jr., 11. Matt Johnson, 12. David Turner, 13. Dustin Mooneyham, 14. Brandon McCormick, 15. Kyle Berck, 16. Bryant Goldsmith, 17. Joe Walkenhorst, 18. Bill Koons, 19. Rylan Long, 20. Eric Turner, 21. R.C. Whitwell, 22. Steve Johnson
Heat winners (38 entries): Looney, Johnson, Stovall, Sullivan,Purkey. B Feature winners: Payne, Moyer.

Ron Mitchell photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box