- May 13 - Delaware Int'l Speedway Part 3 by Sam Holbrooks

<< Previous    1  2  [3]    Next >>
you could ever imagine. We've had a great race car and my guys have been working hard, but we just haven't had things fall into place this year."

Among the WoO LMS stars who ran into trouble during the event were good buddies Clint Smith of Senoia, Ga., and Tim Fuller of Watertown, N.Y. Both drivers brought out caution flags after their cars' noses were bent under from digging into the racetrack – Smith on lap nine after he had started from the pole position and run second for laps 1-8, and Fuller on lap 48 when slid off the track in turn one while holding 11th place.

Finishing in positions 6-10 was fifth-starter Rick Eckert of York, Pa., who climbed as high as fourth; Clanton, who started 15th; Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., who started and finished in the same spot; 17th-starter Chub Frank of Bear Lake, Pa.; and Russell King of Bristolville, Ohio, who registered his first top-10 finish of the 2010 season.

DIS regular Donald Lingo Jr. of Millsboro, Del., who finished 12th, received the $500 WoO LMS 'Bonus Bucks' cash for being the highest-finishing driver who hasn't won a tour A-Main and isn't ranked among the top 12 in the points standings.

Among 40 entries, Eckert was fastest in Ohlins Shocks Time Trials with a lap of 18.377 seconds (97.949 mph). It was his first fast-time honor of 2010.

Heat winners were Eckert, Francis, McCreadie and Brady Smith. The B-Mains were captured by Frank and Mark Byram of Georgetown, Del.

Millsboro, Del.'s Amanda Whaley, a 15-year-old Late Model rookie at Delaware International Speedway, finished third in the second B-Main to qualify for a WoO LMS A-Main in her first-ever appearance on the tour. She placed 19th in the 50-lapper, completing 33 laps before retiring.

Whaley became just the third female driver to start a WoO feature, joining WoO rookie Jill George of Cedar Falls, Iowa, who finished 23rd in the First State 50 after gaining entry to the field thanks to a provisional, and April Farmer of Livingston, Tenn. Both George and Farmer broke the tour's gender barrier during the 2009 season.

Kevin Kovac photo 

WoO - Delaware Int'l Speedway
1. Josh Richards. 2. Brady Smith, 3. Steve Francis, 4. Austin Hubbard, 5. Dale McDowell, 6. Rick Eckert, 7. Shane Clanton, 8. Darrell Lanigan, 9. Chub Frank, 10. Russell King, 11. Clint Smith, 12. Donald Lingo, Jr., 13. Brent Robinson, 14. Mark Byram, 15. Tim Fuller, 16. Tim McCreadie, 17. Kenny Pettyjohn, 18. Jamie Lathroum, 19. Amanda Whaley, 20. Jeremy Miller, 21. Ross Robinson (prov.), 22. Vic Coffey, 23. Jill George (prov.), 24. Ricky Elliott

Top Qualifier (40 entries): Eckert
Heat Winners: Eckert, McCreadie, Francis, B.Smith
B-Main Winners: Frank, Byram

<< Previous    1  2  [3]    Next >>

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine