- Mar. 12 - Clarksville Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


MARS: Erb Takes the Throne at "Tuckasee Toilet Bowl Classic" at Clarksville

CLARKSVILLE, Tenn. - Mar. 12. Dennis Erb, Jr., of Carpentersville, Ill., dueled Friday night winner Ronnie Johnson for half the distance, then Arkansas veteran Wendell Wallace late in the race, to win Saturday's "Tuckasee Toilet Bowl Classic" 40-lap MARS Series event at Clarksville Speedway.

Dennis Erb sits on one of racing's few trophies that hold up under the weight, after his win in Clarksville Speedway's "Tuckasee Toilet Bowl Classic". (Jimmy Dearing)
As Erb and Johnson raced side by side for half of the race after the start, Erb's low line seem to give him a slight advantage for the first few laps. Johnson, however, stayed committed to the top side and remained relentless until finally securing a tenuous lead by lap six. Erb proved to equally determined though, and was back on top by the narrowest of margins by lap 12.  Within another four laps, it once again advantage Johnson.

Further back, Wendell Wallace had taken a cue from Johnson and sailed the high side until finally getting by Ryan Unzicker  and Terry English for third by lap 15 and beginning to reel in the leaders, who had battled each other into heavy traffic at the rear of the field. With some clear track, Wallace was finally able to challenge Erb on the top side by lap 18. Within a couple of laps, Erb was back on top.

Dennis Erb - Ronnie Johnson - MARS at Clarksville Speedway

Dennis Erb, Jr. races Friday night winner Ronnie Johnson (outside) before taking home his win in the MARS-sanctioned "Tuckasee Toilet Bowl Classic" on Saturday. (Jimmy Dearing)

With 15 to go, Johnson lost just a second of momentum as he moved low on the track and clipped an infield cone, and Wallace was able to nudge ahead. Over the next few laps, the top five finally began to separate themselves for the first time. With five laps remaining, however, Erb found his Bloomquist Race Car mired in heavy traffic, racing side by side at times, and Wallace was able to pull to within two lengths.   The track cleared somewhat for the last couple of circuits, and Erb was able to ease away to four-length win over Wallace. 

March 12 - Clarksville Speedway MARS
1) Dennis Erb, Jr., 2) Wendell Wallace, 3) Ronnie Johnson, 4) Terry English, 5) Ryan Unzicker, 6) Jeff Walston, 7) Kent Robinson, 8) Jason Feger, 9) Brian Shirley, 10) R.C. Whitwell, 11) Brad Looney, 12) Chris Wall, 13) Dave Webb, 14) Rodney Melvin, 15) Carnell Parker III, 16) Brandon Shepard, 17) Michael Kloos, 18) Dillan White, 19) Terry Phillips, 20) Jeremy Payne, 21) Todd Hall, 22) Jack Sullivan, 23) Mitchell Lingaue, 24) Jason McBride
Heat winners (50 entries): Erb, Johnson, Looney, Walston; B-Main winners: Kloos, Shepard

Jimmy Dearing photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box