- Mar. 11 - Clarksville Speedway by Sam Holbrooks

Ronnie Johnson after his first career MARS victory at Clarksville (Tenn.) Speedway. (Brian McLeod) 
MARS: Ronnie Johnson Grabs First Series Win at Clarksville Opener

Thanks to Brian McLeod

CLARKSVILLE, Tenn. - Mar. 11. Ronnie Johnson, making his first ever appearance with the MARS Late Model series, definitely left an impression when he raced to Friday's win in the tour's 30-lap season opener at Clarksville Speedway. The opening night of the annual "Tuckasee Toilet Bowl Classic" was worth $3,000 to the Chattanooga veteran.

Driving his race car powered by am aluminum CY-525 crate motor, Johnson won the second heat race to earn an outside front row seat and ran second to polesitter Kent Robinson for six laps before grabbing the lead. Johnson tracked Robinson as the leader struggled to keep his car on the bottom of the rough

 Ronnie Johnson - Clarksville SW1

The MARS Series opener at Clarksville (Tenn.) Speedway offered Ronnie Johnson a chance to hook up with the midwestern series on its easternmost stop, and the Chattanooga veteran took full advantage with the opening night win in the "Tuckasee Toilet Bowl Classic". (Brian McLeod)

surface between turns one and two until finally making the pass coming off the second corner on lap seven. After an early interruption in the race for the spinning cars of Dustin Butler and David Webb, the final 22 laps were run without a caution.

Robinson was able to stay with Johnson until the new leader found lapped traffic and managed to slip his familiar #5 through without any trouble. Johnson pulled away to the win over Robinson and veteran Ray Cook.

Mar. 11 - Clarksville Speedway MARS
1) Ronnie Johnson, 2) Kent Robinson, 3) Ray Cook, 4) Jack Sullivan, 5) Brad Looney, 6) Chuck Proctor, 7) Ryan Unzicker, 8) Rodney Melvin, 9) Dennis Erb, Jr., 10) Terry Phillips, 11) Jeremy Payne, 12) Wendell Wallace, 13) Nick Lyons, 14) Jeff Walston, 15) Jason Feger, 16) Dillan White, 17) David Webb, 18) Tony Jackson, Jr., 19) Steven Ashby, 20) Gary Christian, 21) Jesse Stovall, 22) Leroy Johnson, 23) Brian Shirley, 24) Dustin Butler.
Heat winners (51 entries): Johnson, Robinson, Cook, Sullivan.

(Brian McLeod photo)


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box