- KY - Oct. 23 - Florence Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Steve Casebolt - Jason Jameson - Florence Speedway Fall 50

Runner up Jason Jameson (#12) shows leader Steve Casebolt why he's the Florence Speedway track champion for 2010. (Jeff Eissing)

Casebolt Outduels Jameson in   Florence "Fall

Steve Casebolt after his "Fall 50" win at Florence, Ky. (Jim Denhamer)
50" Finale   

 James Essex

UNION, Ky. – Oct. 23. Steve Casebolt of Richmond, Ind. may wish the 2010 racing season would start anew as the veteran driver wheeled his nearly month-old MasterSbilt Race Car Chassis to his second win in as many weeks as he captured the “Fall 50” on Saturday at Florence Speedway.  

Casebolt captured the $5,000 first place prize money after a spirited duel with 2010 Florence track champion, Jason Jameson of Lawrenceburg, Ind., who finished second. Tenth starting Scott James, also of Lawrenceburg, finished third, ahead of Cody Mahoney of Madison, Ind. and Matt Miller of Waterville, Ohio.

Darrell Lanigan - Dan Schlieper - Florence Speedway Fall 50

Subbing for Audie McWilliams, #10 Darrell Lanigan appeared to have second in hand until fis flat tire provided the race's only slowdown.  Dan Schlieper (#9) took a tenth place finish. (Jeff Eissing)

Casebolt, who came into the Florence finale off a win the week before at Kokomo (Ind.) Speedway, garnered the most passing points after the five heats for the 51 entrants were complete. Joining Casebolt on the front row was Darrell Lanigan, who was subbing for Audie McWilliams, who had a prior family commitment and was unable to drive the John Weber-owned no. 10 car. 

Casebolt grabbed the lead from the outset of the 50-lapper as the 32-year-old competitor beat Lanigan into the first turn.  Casebolt would lead by a car length for the first two circuits until Lanigan pulled event with him at the flagstand on lap three.  But Casebolt would quickly start to pull away from Lanigan and stretch his lead to six car lengths by lap 12.

Brad Neat - Dan Schlieper - Florence Speedway Fall 50

Driving brother Dustin's #25 car, Brad Neat works on Dan Schlieper before past to ninth place at Florence. (Jim Denhamer)

Casebolt started to enter heavy traffic, but Lanigan was unable to make up any time on the track as Casebolt’s lead held steady with 15 laps complete.   Mahoney, who for most of the season has crewed for Don O’Neal, was running third, followed by Miller and Jameson.

Casebolt was able to put several lapped cars between himself and Lanigan with 20 laps scored.  A lap later, Lanigan saw his bid for the win go out the window as a cut tire caused him to slow and bring out the only caution of the race.

On the restart, Jameson and James would be the cars on the move.  Jameson climbed from fourth to second on the restart and James would came from sixth to fourth as the drivers took the crossed flags, indicating the halfway mark of the race.

Matt Miller - Cody Mahoney - Florence Speedway Fall 50

Cody Mahoney (#4) and Matt Miller took fourth and fifth, respectively, at Florence. (Jim Denhamer)

Jameson then started to put the heat on the front-running Casebolt and with 30 laps in the books, Casebolt held a slim two-car length lead.  Mahoney, who has raced in only a few events this year, was holding off James and did so until lap 36, when James was able to get by.

Up front, Casebolt and James were putting on quite a show for the lead as Casebolt was using every bit of the half-mile track. Jameson was able to stay close to Casebolt by predominately using the top groove of the well-prepped track.  Casebolt would lose the lead for the first time in the race as Jameson slipped by on lap 38.

Steve Casebolt VL - Florence Speedway Fall 50

Steve Casebolt at Florence Speedway. (Jim Denhamer)

The two went at it for the next four laps as the top three of Jameson, Casebolt and James were nose to tail with nine to go.  Casebolt regained the lead from Jameson on lap 42 during a time when all three were racing in heavy traffic.  Jameson was able to tail Casebolt all the way to the checkers, while James slipped back from the battle up front in the final few laps as he had trouble negotiating lapped traffic. James held on for third over Mahoney and Miller.

“The car was excellent from the start of the race on, I sort of lost my way there a little bit a few times. I didn’t know how close the 12 car (Jameson) was until he passed me,” said Casebolt after his second win in as many weeks.  “That was a heck of a race out there, I was fortunate to get back by him, he’s tough here, but we really like coming here and we’ve had some good runs here. The track was great - you could race all over it,” commented Casebolt, who has won two of the track’s signature events in the past, the "Spring 50" and the "Ralph Latham Memorial". 

Duane Chamberlain - Rod Conley - Florence Speedway Fall 50

Back at midfield, Duane Chamberlain and #71 Rod Conley take completely different routes around Florence Speedway's big oval. (Jeff Eissing) 

“I want to especially thank Dixie Chopper. They have been with us a few years now and I really appreciate their sponsorship", Casebolt added. "Hopefully they will be back on board for next season. I have to thank my family, who were here tonight, my wife Haley, and my mom and dad.  Thanks to the crew for the great job they did on the car and all of my sponsors, we’ll probably race once more this year at KC next week and call it a year.” 

Casebolt’s MasterSbilt Race Car is also sponsored by Dixie Chopper, Integra Racing Shocks, American Racer Tires, Arizona Sport Shirts, Dart Machinery, and Sunoco Race Fuels.  

Longtime Late Model veteran, John “Weasel” Rhoades of Winchester, Ohio won the open wheel modified feature in the Stricker Auto Parts, Bob Pierce Race Cars entry.  It was Rhoades’ first win at Florence in 14 years.  

The event concluded the 2010 racing season at Florence Speedway as a major renovation of the main concession stand and restroom facilities will be taking place in the coming weeks in preparation for the 2011 season.   

Oct. 23 - Florence Speedway "Fall 50"
1) Steve Casebolt, 2) Jason Jameson, 3) Scott James, 4) Cody Mahoney, 5) Matt Miller, 6) Eddie Carrier, Jr., 7) John Gill, 8) R.J. Conley, 9) Brad Neat, 10) Dan Schlieper, 11) Darrell Lanigan, 12) Mike Jewell, 13) Duane Chamberlain, 14) Justin Rattliff, 15) Ben Adkins, 16) Zack Dohm, 17) Doug Dodd, 18) Rod Conley, 19) Brandon Green, 20) Chad Smith, 21) Kent Robinson, 22) Eric Wells, 23) Jesse Lay, 24) Tim Prince, 25) Robby Hensley
Heat winners (51 entries): R.J. Conley, Mahoney, James, Dohm; B-Main winners: Neat, Wells.

Jim Denhamer photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine