- June 8 - Sharon Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Briggs Bags "All Star 40" at Sharon

HARTFORD, Oh. - June 8. Boom Briggs of Bear Lake, Pa. held off the 2009 O’Reilly All Star Late Model Series Champion and current 2010 point leader Rob Blair and Doug Horton to capture his first ASLMS win of the 2010 season, and fourth of his career at Sharon Speedway’s $4,000 to-win ‘All Star 40’.

Briggs took command early and set a torrid pace around the 3/8-mile high banked oval with Horton basically strapped to his rear deck-lid. Briggs was glued to the bottom of the speedway as Horton showed his nose on the outside a few times, but couldn’t make a move stick.

The pace was slowed for the first time on lap ten as Stevensville, Ontario’s Darren Peters lost the handle on his mount, and another on lap 11 as Jared Hawkins, Jim Rasey, Chris Hackett, Matt Lux, and Corey Ruffo were all collected up. As racing resumed, Blair added himself to the mix by challenging Horton for the second position, but Horton was able to up the ante and reel in race leader Briggs after a lap 16 caution. By Lap 21, Horton was able to make his way around Briggs to capture the lead.

Horton was never able to pull away from Briggs and Blair, and after two more cautions on laps 25 and 26, Briggs changed his line and was able to pull alongside of Horton and around to recapture the lead on lap 33.

The excitement wasn’t over though as Horton continued to mount a charge on the bottom while Blair worked the outside. The three were almost three-wide at times battling for the lead with two laps to go as Sarver, Pa.’s John Garvin Jr., who earlier won his first ever ASLMS heat race, came to a stop on the front stretch, setting up a two lap dash to the checkers. Briggs was able to hold off Horton and Blair by .942 seconds for the $4,000 payday as Blair made his way around Horton for second. ~ O'Reilly All Stars P.R.

O’Reilly All Star Late Models - Sharon Speedway – June 8
1) Boom Briggs, 2) Rob Blair, 3) Doug Horton, 4) Dave Hess, Jr., 5) Gregg Satterlee, 6) Zack Dohm, 7) Mike Knight, 8) Keith Barbara, 9) Greg Oakes, 10) John Mollick, 11) Jared Miley, 12) Brent Rhebergen, 13) Jared Hawkins, 14) Dennis Lunger, Jr., 15) Darren Peters, 16) Jim Rasey, 17) Corey Ruffo, 18) John Garvin, 19) Charles Supplee, 20) Bill Henry, 21) Mike Johnson, 22) Chris Hackett, 23) Matt Lux, 24) Derek Frank

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine