- June 8 - Farley Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Mike Murphy and Andy Eckrich at Farley Speedway

Mike Murphy gets a challenge from Andy Eckrich after a late restart  at Farley.  Murphy got away, but Eckrich came away with the series points lead. (Darrel Unzel)

IMCA Deery Bros.: Murphy First in Farley Deery, Eckrich takes series point lead

Bill Martin

FARLEY, Ia. – June 7. A first-time winner and a new point leader came out of Tuesday’s Deery Brothers Summer Series feature at Farley Speedway.

Mike Murphy Jr. led all 40 laps of the IMCA Late Model main event to earn $2,000. Andy Eckrich finished a distant second but took over the top spot in the standings, five points better than Tyler Bruening.

After starting outside Ray Guss Jr. on the front row, Murphy went side-by-side with the defending Deery champion for the first two circuits before pulling ahead.

Ray Guss Jr and Mike Murphy Jr at Farley Speedway

Jeff Aikey (58) and eventual winner Mike Murphy Jr race for the early lead at Farley Speedway. (Darrel Unzel) 

The only caution of the race came on lap 13 and the fourth starting Eckrich passed Guss on the restart for second.

Trying to extend his Deery winning streak to three, Eckrich did his best to reel in Murphy but couldn’t keep up the pace in lapped traffic. Murphy pulled ahead to win by a straightaway over Eckrich with Guss, Joel Callahan and Bruening rounding out the top five.

Dan Shelliam and Jeff Aikey at Farley Speedway

Jeff Aikey stalks Dan Shelliam at Farley. (Darrel Unzel)

Tom Darbyshire was the point leader going into the night and finished 12th. He and Terry Neal are now tied for third, six points off Eckrich’s pace. 

Matt Strassheim won the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing.

The 2006 tour rookie of the year, Murphy’s previous best Deery finish had been a runner-up show­ing at Davenport Speedway in 2007. 

Mike Murphy VL Farley Speedway
Mike Murphy, Jr. was a first-time winner in a mid-week IMCA Deery Brothers Late Model Series event at Farley (Ia.) Speedway. (Darrel Unzel)
Farley Speedway Deery Brothers
1) Mike Murphy, Jr., 2) Andy Eckrich, 3) Ray Guss Jr., 4) Joel Callahan, 5) Tyler Bruening, 6) Brian Harris, 7) Nate Beuseling, 8) Dan Shelliam, 9) Terry Neal, 10) Todd Cooney, 11) Darrel DeFrance, 12) Tom Darbyshire, 13) Justin Reed, 14) Jay Johnson, 15) Boone McLaughlin, 16) Matt Strassheim (prov.), 17) Colby Springsteen (prov.), 18) Charlie McKenna, 19) Sam Halstead (prov.), 20) Jeff Aikey, 21) Mike Garland, 22) Travis Smock, 23) Joe Zrostlik, 24) Jason Rauen
Heat winners: DeFrance, Murphy, Bruening, Guss; B-Main winners: Zrostlik, Aikey

Darrel Unzel photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box