- June 8 - Eldora Speedway Prelude to the Dream by Sam Holbrooks


Clint Bowyer racing at Eldora Speedway

NASCAR driver Clint Bowyer races toward the win in the Eldora Speedway "Prelude to the Dream". (Mike Ruefer)


Bowyer Wins Seventh annual "Prelude to the Dream" at Eldora


True Speed Media


ROSSBURG, Ohio – June 8. The box score says that Clint Bowyer led all 30 laps in Wednesday’s "Prelude to the Dream" all-star dirt Late Model race at Eldora Speedway, but the native of Emporia, Kan., had to fend off strong charges from J.J. Yeley and Aric Almirola to finally capture a victory in the prestigious race that’s a who’s who of racing’s elite.


After finishing second in the past two Prelude to the Dream events, Bowyer sealed his first Prelude triumph by .531 of a second over Yeley, a former USAC champion who has logged numerous laps at Eldora.


Clint Bowyer with trophy girls at Eldora

Clint Bowyer with a troop of trophy presenters at Eldora Speedway. (Mike Ruefer)



“It’s just so much fun to be able to come here and compete,” said Bowyer, whose victory was presented live to the entire nation on HBO Pay-Per-View®, with the net proceeds from the telecast supporting four of the nation’s top children’s hospitals. “What an awesome racetrack. I’ve always loved this place and I’m very proud of Tony Stewart and everybody behind him that makes this event awesome. There’s a lot of hard work to put on something like this, and we are very lucky to have him put forth the effort.”


Stewart, owner of Eldora Speedway and a three-time Prelude victor, finished 20th in the race he created in 2005.

“We had another first-time winner tonight. That’s what the fun part is,” said Stewart, a two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion. “Watching Marcos Ambrose win his heat race and Jason Leffler win his heat race in their first time being here – that’s the stuff that makes you smile, and it’s fun to watch all these guys have a good time.” 


The race was a team event. There was still an individual race winner in Bowyer, but there was also a race within the race, with the field broken up into four teams, each representing a children’s hospital:


·      Team Levine: Jimmie Johnson, Denny Hamlin, Bill Elliott, David Reutimann, Austin Dillon, Ray Evernham and Cruz Pedregon.

·      Team Atlanta: Ryan Newman, Carl Edwards, Bowyer, Ken Schrader, David Gilliland, Leffler and Ron Capps.

·      Team St. Louis: Kyle Busch, Kasey Kahne, Bobby Labonte, Justin Allgaier, Kenny Wallace, Ron Hornaday and Ricky Carmichael.

·      Team Dallas: Tony Stewart, Tony Kanaan, Matt Kenseth, Brian Vickers, Ambrose, Almirola and Yeley.


Each hospital received a donation, with the payout breakdown as follows:


·      Winning team received 30 percent of net proceeds raised from the pay-per-view telecast.

·      Second-place team received 25 percent of net proceeds raised from the pay-per-view telecast.

·      Third- and fourth-place teams each received 20 percent of net proceeds raised from the pay-per-view telecast.

  The finishing positions of the top-five drivers from each team were added together, with the lowest team score winning 30 percent of the net money raised. The cumulative efforts of Busch (fourth), Allgaier (fifth), Carmichael (sixth) and Kahne (10th) put Team St. Louis on top. Team Atlanta finished second, while Team Dallas and Team Levine finished third and fourth, respectively. As a result, Team Atlanta will receive 25 percent of the net money raised, and Team Dallas and Team Levine will each receive 20 percent of the net money raised.


2011 Prelude to the Dream 

Finish - Starting pos. - name - laps comp.

1.   (1)  Clint Bowyer, 30  

2.   (4)  J.J. Yeley, 30 

3.   (2)  Aric Almirola, 30 

4.  (10)  Kyle Busch, 30 

5.   (5)  Justin Allgaier, 30 

6.   (6)  Ricky Carmichael, 30 

7.   (8)  Ken Schrader, 30 

8.  (13)  Austin Dillon, 30 

9.  (12)  Ryan Newman, 30 

10. (11)  Kasey Kahne, 30 

11. (21)  Denny Hamlin, 30 

12. (17)  David Reutimann, 30 

13. (14)  Matt Kenseth, 30 

14. (18)  Brian Vickers, 30 

15.  (9)  Carl Edwards, 30 

16. (27)  Kenny Wallace, 30 

17. (20)  Ron Capps, 30 

18. (28)  Jimmie Johnson, 30 

19. (16)  Cruz Pedregon, 30 

20. (26)  Tony Stewart, 30 

21. (19)  David Gilliland, 30 

22. (22)  Bill Elliott, 30 

23. (24)  Bobby Labonte, 30 

24.  (3)  Marcos Ambrose, 30 

25. (25)  Ray Evernham, 21, Mechanical  

26. (23)  Ron Hornaday, 20, Mechanical  

27. (15)  Tony Kanaan, 18, Lost Wheel 

28.  (7)  Jason Leffler, 16, Accident

Complete event information can be found in the Prelude to the Dream online media kit at 



Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box